Benefits of Taking Meeting Notes

TfTHacker
Obsidian Observer
Published in
2 min readMar 9, 2024

For the past few months, I’ve noticed a significant increase in the number of notes I take during meetings. My usual “idea capture” and “research” notes haven’t changed much, so what’s going on? While the increase in meetings is undoubtedly a factor, there’s more to it.

I’ve always been a note-taker. I diligently record the date, time, subject, project, and attendees using my preferred tool, Obsidian. This simple metadata is incredibly useful for searching and backlinking. When I think, “I know I met with Sandra recently, but what about?” I can navigate her contact note and see all related documents through backlinks.

Improved recall

The curious thing is that I rarely refer back to my meeting notes. I usually recall the important details without them. So, why do I bother?

I’ve realized that the act of taking notes itself is a powerful memory reinforcement technique. I may not retain every detail, but the key points — agreements, problems identified, and action items — stick with me long after the meeting ends.

Peace of Mind

My notes also provide peace of mind, a reassurance that I have a record to consult if needed. With those details safely captured, I have the mental space to focus on the present.

Here’s my simple template, containing a few standard fields plus a tagged #ToProcess task: This task ensures I follow up on any action items promptly.

My meeting note template in Obsidian

Every few days, I review my recently made meeting notes to ensure they’re complete before archiving. This serves as a quick refresher and a final check that “future me” will have the necessary context.

Want to learn more about the “future self” concept? Check out this article: Dear Future Self, I Wrote this Note for You

Don’t forget to check out some of my interesting projects at my store: https://store.tfthacker.com

--

--

TfTHacker
Obsidian Observer

Exploring Tools for Thought with a focus on Obsidian & popular TfT Tools. Find out more about my work at https://tfthacker.com