Embracing My Collector Within Inspired a Return to Obsidian

I’m returning to Obsidian from Capacities, and it’s all due to … collecting postage stamps?!

🌿Annette Raffan 🌼
Obsidian Observer

--

My comic collage created from years of collecting bits of paper and just three hours of tinker time. Author’s own image.

In terms of my note-taking, it’s been a tumultuous couple of months. I wrote about how I was unhappy with Obsidian and that I was ‘officially’ switching to Capacities. Well now I’m here to say — I’m switching back. I never really went away from Obsidian, I just avoided it.

I left it in a state of limbo; out of sight, out of mind.

Except that it very much wasn’t.

And it’s because of my love of collecting postage stamps that I am inspired to return.

You see, my experience with Obsidian, as a ‘tinkerer’s paradise’, is a bit like my evolving experiences with the humble postage stamp.

The good old days

In the latter half of the last century, almost every kid collected stamps. It was the thing to do before TV and computers took it all away.

As a quiet kid in the 90s I used to spend hours sifting through stamps looking for the ones I was missing. In the process I would learn about the history of different countries, whilst experiencing the full pleasure of sorting and resorting them all in to piles according to…

--

--

🌿Annette Raffan 🌼
Obsidian Observer

📚 Postgraduate researcher figuring out the researcher life one method at a time, introspective, plant person.