Lock Down Your Ideas: Password- Protected Notes in Obsidian

Keep Your Notes Safe: Obsidian for Secure Thinking

Robert Buscher
Obsidian Observer

--

Picture showing a padlock on a fence.
Photo by Jose Fontano on Unsplash

As someone who uses Obsidian a lot, I can’t help but appreciate its many features. But there’s one feature I’ve always missed, and that’s the ability to set a password to protect information on Obsidian.

Obsidian has its limits, there’s no native way of doing this, which surprised me, given the simplicity of the feature. That’s why I installed this plugin: Password Protection, by Qing Li.

I have notes from my classes (as I’m a student), and I have another vault for my articles on Medium. So it’s not super-confidential information, but still, I prefer to be the only one with access to my notes. And I think you do too.

But who are we protecting ourselves from? Well, you could imagine that your computer has been stolen, or that you’ve had your desktop hacked. In that case, the password will give you a lot of peace of mind. For me, it’s just telling myself that no one else but me can access my notes.

To set up the plugin, you will have to install it in the community plugin and enable it. Then, you’ll have to set a password to protect your notes. So you will need to go to the settings of the plugin and enable the option: Enable/Disable password protection.

--

--

Robert Buscher
Obsidian Observer

Fitness enthusiast. On a journey to gain muscle and sharing my tips.