My Obsidian plugins selection after 10 months of use

Daniel Prindii
Obsidian Observer
Published in
6 min readNov 6, 2023

--

Originally published at http://danielprindii.com on November 6, 2023.

I started my Obsidian adventure in February this year, after 5 years of using Evernote as my default note-taking and archive application. Before deciding that Obsidian will be my default note tool I had a few attempts in the last two years of testing it. Since then, the updates made by the team elevated the app and changed completely the interface, ease of use, and capabilities.

As most of you know, the strong point of Obsidian is the plethora of plugins and CSS options to customize the app and what it can do. At the same time, these options can impede having a stable working environment.

During my last then months, as I was testing and defining my workflows, I tried the most downloaded plugins, and a few of the niche ones, that are available via the community plugin market.

My guidelines for selecting a plugin to use in my system were:

A bit of clarification on the plugins. There are two types of them: the core ones- created by the Obsidian team and part of the default app- and the community plugins — created by community members and vetoed by the Obsidian team for quality, security, and reliability.

--

--

Daniel Prindii
Obsidian Observer

Fractional Head of Community. Community Designer. Marketing Strategist. Art Historian. Writing, researching and building communities.