My Obsidian Setup: Theme Tweaks for a Productive Vault

Trevor Tarakjian
Obsidian Observer
Published in
5 min readJun 29, 2023

--

Over on the Obsidian Discord I’ll often post updates to my current Obsidian configuration and I find that a good amount of the members there are drawn to the simple, functional aesthetics that I aim for. I’ll usually receive comments and direct messages about “How did you do X?” and I figured it was time to have a dedicated space that I could point to if people wanted to make those changes for themselves. So that’s what this is, a place I’ll keep updated when I make tweaks and other changes to my Vault with the appropriate Style Settings, plugin options, and custom CSS that I’m constantly making adjustments to.

Choosing a Theme

Currently, I’m using the Minimal theme, which I’ve used in the past but migrated away in lieu of “fancier” alternatives. However, I have recently returned to Minimal for two main reasons. Firstly, it ‘just works’ without any issues. Secondly, it is consistently updated with the latest changes as it is maintained by @kepano, Obsidian’s CEO. The Minimal theme stands out from others due to its attention to detail in layout, clear labeling of Style Settings, and most importantly, a focus on functional minimalism.”

--

--

Trevor Tarakjian
Obsidian Observer

I write about workflows that just might fit neatly into your life. Read more @ https://www.productnook.com