Photo by Maksym Kaharlytskyi on Unsplash

Organising Your Notes in Obsidian — A Complete Guide

Four unique methods and how to use them in combination with each other…

Theo Stowell
Published in
7 min readMar 16, 2024

--

When I was first looking to run a free workshop on personal knowledge management, I sent out a poll asking what topics my audience would like to see covered.

One of the first responses that I received was from someone looking for advice on how to better organise their files in Obsidian.

I’ve got my own method of doing this, which you can investigate if you check out PARAZETTEL, but it’s not for everyone (although I’ve done my best to make it adaptable).

So I thought it would be useful to go over all the ways that you can organise your knowledge in Obsidian. I’ll give the advantages and disadvantages of each so that you can better figure out how to organise your knowledge in the future.

We’ll go over folders, backlinks, properties and tags, which are best for certain use cases. Enjoy!

1. Folders

This is the classic method of storing digital information, and the one upon which the file system that Obsidian uses is based.

This means it’s the most straightforward and obvious of all the options available. Perfect for beginners, or those with simple enough use…

--

--

Theo Stowell
Obsidian Observer

Productivity, PKM and self-development insights // More of what I know @https://fundamentalised.com // Learn to manage your knowledge @https://parazettel.com