Q&A: Should I Start a New Obsidian Vault For This Project? What are the Downsides?

Essential things to consider before working with more than one vault

Ellane W
Obsidian Observer

--

A photograph of a person dressed in protective clothing and holding a clipboard, standing in a warehouse. There are extremely tall metal shelves on either side of them, full of pallet loads of plastic wrapped items. The pallet the person appears to be looking up at is green, while every other item on the shelves is white.
Photo by Mauricio Gutiérrez on Unsplash. Additional elements by Author

Non subscribers can click here to read for free.

I’ve been a single-vaulter during my time in Obsidian, but I’m thinking about my next book, and I’m tempted to start a new vault for it, but I’m sure there must be downsides! What’s your approach?

When June Thomas asked me this question recently, a number of thoughts ran through my mind, which I’m going to expand on now in more detail than the brief answer I gave at the time. Check the Obsidian forum or help files if any of this is unfamiliar.

I told June that my approach is to keep almost everything in one vault. Even new projects, because I haven’t yet found a strong enough reason for separating them. I have three Obsidian vaults: the main one where pretty much everything goes, a second experimental vault, and a third for business SOPs.

The first question you need to ask yourself when considering opening a new vault is—

Why?

Write down what’s got you considering a separation from your current vault, and the benefits you imagine a new one will bring.

--

--

Ellane W
Obsidian Observer

Designer and educational publisher for 30 years+. Plain-text advocate. Still using paper, but less of it. https://linktr.ee/miscellaneplans