Why I use both Devonthink and Obsidian to manage my content

Simon Theakston
Obsidian Observer
Published in
6 min readAug 2, 2022

--

Photo by Glenn Carstens-Peters on Unsplash

Last month, I wrote an article about my Data Capture Workflow — a walkthrough of how I capture (and store) information from websites, podcasts, social media feeds etc that I feel will be useful in the future.

I also list the apps that I use in that process. Since publishing the article, I’ve had a few questions about why I use both Devonthink and Obsidian so I thought it would be worthwhile to do a bit of a deep dive into why I value them both and how I see them fulfilling two very different roles in my workflow.

So, let’s start at the beginning.

What is DevonThink?

DevonThink (www.devontechologies.com)is a Document Management solution. Using its software, the user can set up a Database (or series of databases) to store any file that they want. That could range from PDFs to images and from eBooks to website bookmarks. All files are indexed and a powerful in-built AI can provide a range of useful documents based on any search that a user runs.

The whole system is backed up by a mobile app, meaning that anything I store within a DevonThink database can be accessible while on the move.

I’m in the process of trying to be 100% paperless, so I use DevonThink to store any essential document that I receive. That…

--

--

Simon Theakston
Obsidian Observer

I write about the skills, growth and businesses that I'm building. And the technology that is supporting me in getting there.