A little bit about myself

My name is Cobe Dru Slaughter. I am a first-year student at Heartland Community College in Normal, Illinois class of 2018. I am obtaining my Associates in Arts with a focus in nursing. I am a proud member of Phi Theta Kappa-an international honor society for two-year colleges and hope to be a part of the Honors Program very soon. I plan to transfer to Illinois State University-Mennonite College of Nursing where I will receive my bachelors of science in nursing (BSN).

I was born and raised in Bloomington, Illinois. When I was younger, my family and I attended every Illinois State University (ISU) event that we could. Whether it was a football, basketball, or volleyball game, we were dedicated Red Bird fans. I remember walking the quad for the first time when I was less than 9 years old. At that age, I thought it was the biggest university in the state. I knew from a young age that despite growing up in the same town as Illinois State University, one day I would attend.

Growing up, I had difficulties learning in school. I always saw myself slightly behind the rest of my classmates. Wanting to study at ISU, I knew that I needed to push myself throughout High School. I went to school every day with the determination to receive good grades. I managed to keep a four point two GPA on a five-point scale. And Graduated in the top twenty-five percent of my class. Yet when it was time to apply to a University I had to ask myself if it was the best decision for me. Only considering my below-average ACT score, I began thinking “maybe I’m not college material.” Many of my friends joked about our local Community College-Heartland. But I knew that Heartland Community College was best for me. I had to focus on what I needed to do so that one day I could attend Illinois State University.

Everyone that I’ve met so far at Heartland Community College has a different story as to why they chose community college. For some, it was a better financial decision. For others, it was a better academic fit. Some of my classmates are still high school seniors. They have been accepted into four-year university and will start classes in the fall, getting a head start on their college careers. When I’m on campus at Heartland, I don’t only see college students. I see parents, displaced workers, adults twice my age, and people I remember in High School that graduated three or four years before me. I’ve realized that community college was a true representation of the community. Every student is here for a different reason, yet we all have the same goal in mind. Which is to obtain a certificate or diploma within two short years, the key to a promising future.

I was so excited to start this journey when I was signing up for classes until my adviser told me to print off my bill.

To this date, I have borrowed $5,500.00 from the US. Department of Education through a Direct Unsubsidized loan from my college’s financial aid office. I plan on accepting another $5,500.00 loan before August 2017 totaling $11,000.00 altogether. The true cost of my four semesters at Heartland Community College are just shy of eleven thousand dollars, $10,720.00 to be exact. Unfortunately, financial aid is not a safety net for me to rely on forever. Shortly after I am finished with school I will be expected to pay back my loans in full with interest tacked on.

Now, of course, my total loan debt is only a fraction of what some adults are still paying for their student loans. That still does not justify loading down young adults with thousands of dollars in debt right before they start walking on their own two feet. If so many different people in one area benefit from Community College, then why is it so expensive?

States all across the country need to offer tuition-free Community College for the well-being of its’ citizens and the local economy.

College for some people is a chance to make a better life for themselves and their family. I graduated with a handful of people that thought college was not a true necessity. Imagine a community filled with young adults passionate about continuing their education because the cost was paid for by their state. Students graduating high school would be more encouraged to extend their education by at least two more years. Tuition-free community college is not just a handout. It is giving everyone the ticket they need to obtain a higher education without the shackles of debt.

Next Story > > > >

--

--