Going Looney Tunes with Music

An Odd Future for the Next Generation and Beyond

jmaw
Ocean of Consciousness

--

I grew up listening to Hip-Hop in the “melting pot” of the Hawaiian Islands. Ethnically mixed myself (though I’ve been told I look like I’m from SoCal, The Bay Area, and Canada), it was odd. For some reason, even though I wasn’t from the same ‘hood nor did I encounter gang violence or drugs (beyond marijuana), the music comforted me.

As I’ve grown up, matured and learned to love myself, quirks and all, despite the slights and remarks of others, Hip-Hop has went with me.

In the 80s, I listened to DJ Jazzy Jeff and the Fresh Prince, in part because it was fun and most accessible for a child finding his way. In the 90s, as the angst of the teenage years set in, Tupac, Biggie, and the Wu-Tang danced through the 36 chambers of my brain. I’d also start listening to Dr. Dre, Snoop D-O-Double-G and that’s kind of where I stayed.

For a hot moment near the end of my teens, I found Korn and Marilyn Manson and Slipknot and that embodied the feelings I was experiencing in the transition from adolescence to adulthood.

As the 20s set in, 50 Cent found his way to the mainstream, I found his mixtapes before he got “In Da Club” and I alsofound Reggae. I’d been exposed to it in Hilo but wasn’t much for the Jawaiian version of Reggae that dominated the airwaves.

In college it was a different story and let’s just say Everyone really does love Bob Marley. I explored some different artists from other genres but maintained a solid musical diet of Hip-Hop, Bob Marley, his Children, and a few of whatever top 40 went out because there is a reason they say popular culture… because that -ish is popular!

The shift to the 30s increased my musical evolution and also refined further what I listened to. I had dabbled in conscious music throughout my 20s and I found myself less attracted to angry Rap music and the heaviness of various types of Metal and Rock. I had been drawn to different love ballads across genres because aren’t we each seeking love? I know damn near all of us can relate to heartache.

Electronic music also started to make its way into my experience.

I would fall in love and live with a woman for a period of time which ended in a flash and that relationship made World music sink in. She had to have music on to sleep, and I must have some random Drums, Chants, and so forth echoing in my subconscious. Enough at least to not listen to much of that now.

She wasn’t into Hip-Hop and I should have known it wouldn’t last right then and there.

Never underestimate the role music plays in a relationship. I forgot to mention earlier that throughout my years with my parents before leaving for college, I absorbed the songs of the 50s, 60s, 70s, and early 80s. My Mom and Dad have their preferences but I cannot recall a time where one was driving and the other changed the music in the other’s car.

My parents have been married for 38 years and similar interests have to be a part of that formula of perseverance. In visiting them recently, my Mom even chose Action and Adventure on Netflix without being prompted. She was also the first to turn on Seahawks during Week 17 of this Season (2013), a team she has followed since 1977, 3 years prior to my birth. She had followed the team as a way to keep in touch with a friend who moved back to the Emerald City.

One of my fondest memories is the time my late paternal Grandfather offered to give her a thousand dollars if the Seahawks won the Super Bowl. Maybe this season…

Whether it was evolution or compromise on the part of both parents (because I’m sure my Dad isn’t too down with Peter, Paul, and Mary) the likes that coincided, united.

In my current relationship, I’ve been exposed to even more music, much of which is Reggae and well, it fits. I listen to a ton of stuff she doesn’t and I’ve also nearly a decade of Life on her, but it’s interesting to see where it intertwines. And where it doesn’t.

Which brings me to Odd Future. What the fuck is this group all about? In theory, the diversity of the group fits and incorporates elements of everything that I’ve ever listened to. I love the uniqueness and the need to be different than the current norm amongst Rappers and Hip-Hop Rappers. But something doesn’t take it a step further for me.

My girlfriend will probably only listen to Frank Ocean on the regular. A musician herself, she can appreciate other elements of music and the group’s work, but I can guarantee she’ll never buy an Odd Future EP, LP, or freebie and bump it in her car.

And is that a travesty? No. Odd Future incorporates the word “Odd” in its name for a reason. It’s an odd group. I can’t tell you what it’s really about or why. The group and its individual members don’t particularly speak to me. I’ve watched the videos of Tyler the Creator and haven’t laughed.

I can quote lines from every Kid Cudi album but despite having the two Odd Future Mixtapes, I can’t even name a song. I don’t own the clothes though I can appreciate a kid walking down the street with that silly donut on his hoodie…

For some reason, I can put a song on and it works. It provides some nice background beats and an occasional funny bit of lyricism and that’s that. Are they better than 2 Chainz? Oh by far, but I know more 2 Chainz than Odd Future, if only because I can’t really get down with 2 Chainz.

Funny how that works with things you don’t like but gets massive airplay, eh?

Odd Future reminds me of the lesser known cartoons that I watched in yesteryear. Again, I don’t think they are bad at all. Far from, they are great! I do listen but it doesn’t catch me like a Disney or Looney Tunes would because of marketing and being on everything the same as the Fugees one and done album stands out forever because of how phenomenal and rare it is.

Oh well, I ain’t gonna continue trying to figure it out. New generation and honestly…

Odd Future Wolf Gang Kill Them All!!!

--

--

jmaw
Ocean of Consciousness

Human + Being. Writer Seeking Love, Truth, the Poetry In All. Having an Adventure in Urban Mysticism along the Way…