The Jersey Shore

Carol Caruso
Ocean World
Published in
2 min readJun 28, 2024
Photo by Camille Minouflet on Unsplash

To many, the Jersey Shore conjures images of boardwalks, beaches and traffic.

Lots of traffic.

There have been times, mid-summer, when I decided not to run an errand because I knew it would take me at least 40 minutes to get home from what should be a five-minute excursion.

People flock to the shore for a reason, but I encourage you to experience it in a different way.

On a warm fall day, I can walk to the beach.

Sometimes I bring a chair, sometimes a towel, but prefer a comfortable piece of driftwood. I am grateful for this gift, so close to my home, that I can visit with a minimal time investment.

A slight breeze may cause the hair on my arms to dance, and I can scan the vastness of the horizon, often noticing a boat strategically placed, as if in a painting.

I can kick off my shoes because the beach does not allow me to leave without sand between my toes. Like a child, I will try not to see dirt as an enemy to be cleaned.

In solitude and stillness, the energy of the waves will envelope me in peace.

The breaking waves that blanket the sand create a perfect canvas for footprints.

On the shoreline one can imagine a vantage point beneath the blue and green beams that illuminate the water containing an abundance of life.

Although I am more likely to encounter horseshoe crabs and jellyfish, given the proper conditions, I have been able to observe seals sunbathing on the rocks.

Deeper into the ocean there are whales, dolphins, rays, and sharks; only a fraction of the marine life living in a universe we can only imagine.

There is something spiritual about the ocean. It cannot be adequately put into words but can be felt with the heart, and together there are simple things we can do to protect this sacred ground.

  • Conserve water by shortening a shower or turning off the faucet when brushing teeth or washing dishes.
  • Protect sea life by advocating for policies and innovations that keep our oceans clean and pollution-free.
  • Educate yourself about the reciprocal relationship between us and the ocean and share what you learn with others.

For those who do not live close to a shore town, I encourage you, off-season, to come meet the shore, without the crowds, without the boardwalk, without the traffic.

I am confident that the ocean will speak to you, as it does to me.

--

--

Carol Caruso
Ocean World

Carol Caruso is a retired educator with pieces published in Writer’s Digest, Educational Leadership, and Bored Teachers.