The Special Moment

Oclin
Oclin
Published in
3 min readApr 25, 2018

English version

(There’s a norwegian version available here)

Last summer Atle got the chance to contribte to one of his favorite TV programs: Der ingen skulle tru at nokon kunne bu (Where no one believes anyone could live). During his work he experienced one of his most special moments so far…

What kind of TV-program is this?

This TV-program is a Norwegian documentary series which have been broadcasted on NRK since 2002. In each episode, we meet people who have settled down mile off the beaten track — on a shear in the sea, on a mountain shelf or far out in the wilderness.

Who gave you the project?

Me (Atle) and my girlfriend was driving from Bergen to Volda. During the trip, an unknown phone number called. I checked the number, and it turned out that it was Torje Bjellås, the head photographer of the TV-program. He had heard from someone (still angry that I don’t know who) that I am a good cinematographer. Honestly, I was quite stoked. I have seen a lot of Bjellås work, and know that he is such a professional. He is a great storyteller and he knows how to use a camera. Just look at the TV-program.

What was the project about?

In 2017, the TV-program planned to visit Trandal, a small village close to Volda. I was asked to contribute with some video clips and drone footage. I went to Trandal during the Trandal blues festival in July. Spent a whole day together with the main characters and the TV-host, Arne Uglum. I thought that my mission was to film a bit during the festival, which would lead to some clip in the final episode. Luckily I managed to experience some special moments, especially when the host asked the owner a personal question about his dead father. This was one of my most special moments ever at work.

pictures: Atle Remmereit

Are you happy with the result?

After I had sent over the material to the producers, I was quite nervous. I was afraid, I didn`t managed to film enough and that I have failed my mission. But after a while, Torje called me. He was very happy. So when the episode was broadcasted on TV, I invited my girlfriend and my siblings to eat kebab and watch the TV-program. And it turned out that they broadcasted almost five minutes air time of my work. What a feeling!

Do you like to work with this type of projects?

I love working with projects like this. To capture strong moments give me a great feeling. I use a lot of time to get to know people. That is much more important than the technical part.

--

--

Oclin
Oclin
Editor for

Productioncompany based in Norway (Oslo and Volda). We make films, timelapses, livestreams and AV. Get in touch via post@oclin.no or @chberge & @atleremmereit!