Instagrammer Spotlight: @sce.nic

Clare Brown
Octoly Magazine
Published in
4 min readJul 19, 2017

What is your favorite movie?

Almost every Judd Apatow movie, but I really love Forgetting Sarah Marshall

What is your guilty pleasure snack food?

I love making popcorn (old school with the kernels on the stove!) and make it ~*fancy*~ with flavor powders

Instagram Stories or Snapchat?

Snapchat!

What is your favorite season?

I live in FL, so we don’t really have seasons other than: hot, scalding, kind of hot, & ok it dipped below 80 (we’re cold now). I do really love spring.

What was the title of the last book you read?

Shoe Dog by Phil Knight.

What is your favorite Instagram account?

I love the repost accounts like @maryhadalittlegramm. Also, @itsmuaashley is mesmerizing with her lip swatches!

What are your favorite apps to use for editing your Instagram photos?

FaceTune & VSCO. Blemishes be gone!

What is your biggest Instagram pet peeve?

I don’t really have any pet peeves… but if I had to choose, I guess extreme clickbait or the finger wags.

Your makeup skills are incredible! How did you get started doing makeup?

I got my makeup done for an 8th grade dance at the Lancome counter at the mall. I was so fascinated by how she applied my eyeshadow that I went home and tried to mimic it the next day. It spiraled into obsession at an early age!

If you had to explain how to do the perfect eye makeup look to a person who had never done makeup before how would you explain it?

Honestly, a really fluffy blending brush and a transition/lid color go a long way. I would definitely tell them to practice blending with really neutral colors at first. Liquid liner isn’t as scary as it seems — you can definitely grab some tape to perfect that wing or start with a pen for more control. Also, if you’re interested in wearing false lashes and can’t seem to get them to stay on your eye: pick up the brush-on glue from Ardell. There’s almost no drying time and it makes applying them pretty goof proof.

Have you ever gotten negative comments on Instagram? How do you handle them?

Yeah, I have. Unfortunately, I think it’s part of what comes with the territory when you’re posting videos/photos of yourself online. I honestly have some words (that I would never want to read blocked in the settings. I usually delete them if they truly offend me. You just have to remind yourself that it’s not that deep :)

What advice do you have for girls looking to perfect their makeup skills?

This is just my opinion, but less is sometimes more! I honestly think watching a makeup artist on YouTube like Lisa Eldridge is the best way to pick up on skills that can translate into a “real life” wearable makeup look.

What are your favorite products to use to remove your makeup?

I have used the basic orange Neutrogena face wash since high school. I just wash my face in the shower and remove any excess eye makeup with Almay pads when I get out.

What is your biggest Instagram dream?

To meet my IG friends in person! I really love connecting with hard working girls online and wish I had them as friends in real life.

What has being a beauty and fashion guru taught you about yourself?

Don’t be so hard on yourself or nitpick about certain things that you don’t like. More times than not, you’re your own worst critic. Also, don’t care about what others think or curate the content you’re creating to please people.

--

--