Meet Emma, Octoly Community Manager from France

Clare Brown
Octoly Magazine
Published in
5 min readNov 14, 2017

Today we are catching up with the gorgeous Emma Bonneaud who is based in Paris, France. Emma is an Octoly Community Manager who is uniquely qualified for her position as she is an influencer herself. Check out her interview below as she talks about her role at Octoly, how she juggles her full time job and being an influencer at the same time, and the tips she has for rising to the top of the industry.

Tell us a bit about your role at Octoly!

I’m the Community Manager for Octoly France. I manage the relationship with influencers and I’m here to educate them so that their experience with Octoly is the best it can be.☺

I’m also in charge of the events we hold for influencers in France. Particularly, I work on a program called “OctoMap”. This is a new feature being tested in Paris that connects the Octoly influencers in France together.

Don’t be too jealous about “OctoMap” though. The app is only available in Paris at the moment but will available throughout France, Spain and the United States starting November 15th!

How do you juggle your work at Octoly with being an influencer?

I am constantly doing several things at the same time so it is necessary and essential that I am always well organized. First of all, you have to maximize your working time. For example, during my lunch break I work on my blog. I also work on my blog in the evening and, of course, on the weekend.

In terms of content for the blog, I take all my photos for the week with my colleague and friend Camille (camillegrandxo).

The final thing I do is try to plan as much as I can in advance. For Instagram, I use the application UNUM which allows me to visualize my feed. I also write some of my blog articles in advance so that I can post them at any time.

Who takes your photos for Instagram?

I mainly take my photos with other bloggers, friends, or photographers.

I usually take pictures during my lunch break. It goes relatively quickly because Camille, my primary photographer, knows how to take photos. When I work with a new photographer I lead them to get the right angles, lighting, etc. During each shoot I photograph several outfits to post over the next week.

Talk to us about location scouting and shooting for your site!

I know Paris well enough to easily find places that can go well with my outfits. Otherwise I use a Paris-based location app that can find places according to the scenery I want.

Having ample time to shoot is always best — so the weekend is my favorite time to take photos. My favorite times of days to shoot is between noon and two, or in the morning, when the light is best and less people are out.

How do you edit your photos?

I edit my photos with Lightroom and Photoshop. Sometimes VSCO for Instagram. I usually spend about 10–20 mins editing per shoot.

What are some insider tips to help others grow on Instagram?

I would say engaging is the most important thing you can do — comment and like the photos of others, share other people’s Instagram accounts on Stories to increase their visibility and try to have a schedule for when you post so your followers know when to expect content from you.

What are some of the top mistakes you see influencers making on Instagram?

Comment pods are a huge mistake because they are so obvious and they don’t work. Other mistakes happen when influencers put too many hashtags on their posts or they do not proofread their captions or properly edit their photos.

How can aspiring influencers stay ahead of the competition on Instagram?

I think that Instagram will continue to grow over time and will remain one of the number one social platforms. If influencers want to stay competitive they have to continue to post regularly and to constantly improve their content to stand out.

How can Instagrammers make their Insta stories more compelling?

First of all, you have to use color! Put different typography in your videos using applications such as “Hype Type”. You can even change the look of your videos using “8 mm”. All of these tricks make your Stories even more interactive.

Who are your favorite Instagrammers and why do you like them so much?

I love OhhCouture, Collage Vintage, Debiflue, Jaimetoutcheztoi, AlexCloset, La couleur du moment, Camille Charrière, Betty Autier. I have a huge crush on their style, their photos, and their universe — especially OhhCouture.

What are your favorite products currently in the Octoly Free Store?

At the moment I order a lot of fashion, I really love Zapa and Suncoo.

--

--