Creating a Prototype

the final prototype

When designing the physical computing components, we wanted to demonstrate that we could create working system using existing technology. With our physical prototype, we wanted design it as a product that our computing components could be housed within. We set out for it to be weather-proof, have the affordances of a telephone, and minimize any unnecessary pieces.

I began by taking apart the receiver of the rotary phone I had previously disassembled in the hopes that it might be possible to use the casing of the phone as a ceramic or plaster mold. However the interior isn’t smooth enough to allow for this. I decided that a combination using InstaMorph would be a more successful way to capture the shape of the phone.

Next, I used mapped and diagrammed the existing dimensions of the rotary dial to understand how it might fit with the receiver. I found that the existing dial is actually angled — this is tied to the pulse transmission mechanism. After sketching ways to accommodate this, I realized that rather than design an angle into our prototype, we can simply allow the mechanism beneath it to be angled. Therefore I began working on designs that could create a cleaner aesthetic while still preserving the reference to the rotary.

Then I began drawing out the numeric values for each component and then digitized this in an Illustrator file.

I then imported this into the lazer printer a cut a series of units and components to test.

After creating all of the lazer cut components I began to create the handle from InstaMorph. I heated it and molded it, using the same hand-building techniques used in ceramics to create handles.

This was my initial prototype that I shared with the group. After receiving their feedback and accessing the logo made by Helen I finalized all of the components and created this version below.

the final prototype

--

--