An Expat’s Journey to Europe

Gabriele Cacciola
Ocyan Cloud
Published in
5 min readAug 4, 2020

--

Photo by Aron Van de Pol on Unsplash

How I created Ocyan, a startup to solve the financial inclusion for any expat, after going through the struggles to make myself part of the local economy.

Gabriele Cacciola, Ocyan

Moving to a new country is relatively easy, but integrating with the local bureaucracy and system is one of the hardest things that you will do, and this is my story on how I managed to achieve it, when I moved from Italy to the UK.

Hi, I’m Gabriele and my story starts a long time ago, in a country far, far away, while I was in Italy. As most of us I got a job offer, an opportunity to work for a big enterprise in London. Obviously it was a great temptation that you could hardly look away, yet it had one big obstacle: I had to move to the UK.

You see, I thought relocation was easy, as I had been to Australia for my postgraduate studies, but apparently permanent relocation is a whole other story that I was set to soon find out.

Myself in Brisbane, 2014

So first thing first I researched and wrote down a list of things that I needed to do when I moved there to live, and the list had these major tasks: to get a bank account, a mobile contract with enough data allowance, a new…

--

--

Gabriele Cacciola
Ocyan Cloud

Co-Founder and CTO @ Ocyan, I started this journey almost 2 years ago. Technologist and public speaker, insanely passionate about data and engineering.