I eat a lot of donuts

Jeffrey Yamaguchi
Odes to Food
Published in
3 min readJun 7, 2015

--

I like to get up early in the morning and pick up donuts.

I admit sometimes I feel bad about eating them, because they are so fattening and unhealthy. This usually does not last long.

I mean, a good donut can make all in the world seem right.

I remember years ago, on New Year’s Day, I was in San Francisco. I had somehow ended up sleeping in a rundown loft on a mattress with no sheets or blankets, and it was freezing. Great New Year’s Eve, but terrible end of the night. I was with a bunch of friends. In the morning, we got up, and just got going. We needed food. We were wandering around the neighborhood, looking for a place to eat. This was an industrial area, so there were no restaurants. But finally, we stumbled upon a donut shop. I ordered a coffee and a few donuts. We drank and ate in silence as we continued our walk. I was still freezing. My neck hurt. I was exhausted and had a terrible hangover. But damn, that coffee and donuts. Talk about food for the soul. It was a great start to the new year.

While it’s nice to run out and pick up donuts and bring them home, I think it’s better when you are up early and out and about, headed somewhere — a day trip, maybe. You don’t have time to go to a diner, but you need to eat something and get some coffee. That’s when it makes total sense to stop off at the donut shop. You only really need one each, but you order extra. And you eat the extra, and you get on with the journey, because you can eat and walk or drive at the same time. It’s a great way to start the day, a great way to begin the journey to wherever it is you’re going. Donuts just taste so damn good.

I eat a lot of donuts.

Jeffrey Yamaguchi

Unlisted

--

--