Big things have small beginnings

Ineta Bulbenkovaite
ODEUM Code
Published in
3 min readSep 21, 2017

I love details. I believe that beauty comes from little things. Well, here I am, at WebHouse writing about the small things that are going on around us each day in the team working with ODEUM Code and I am proud to be a part of it.

I came from Lithuania, a small Baltic country with a long and great history. I went to Denmark without thinking too much about it. I had an opportunity to learn about a different culture and meet new people and I took it. And here I am.

I am studying Digital Concept Development and Communication at UCN Aalborg and doing my internship at WebHouse where I use my ability to appreciate the little things. I snap moments with my Canon 5D camera, I document every day events that transpire during our project work with ODEUM Code.

Why?

Well, the team and I believe that what we do with passion, some day will become something great and big things have small beginnings. I find it important to document our open source project process, to keep for the future, and to remind us of the days when things were small and how the project evolved. I mostly write journals about communication, which is what I find most important when working in teams. Only when the team is united and the environment is healthy, the software product grows faster with much better potential.

Passion and childish exitement

I joined WebHouse as my internship , because I was inspired by Christians vision about an open source platform to help making life easier for designers and developers when building web apps and mobile apps. Although I had negotiations with many companies I decided to go with WebHouse and their vision. The ODEUM Code project seemed to be a journey towards something big, very interesting and promising. And the way it was introduced, seemed as it was a living creature. The passion and childish excitement made me even more curious. I was not sure if the project would benefit from my skills, because I am not a web developer, but I just had to try it out and now here I am, working on creating a voice for ODEUM Code and making our process connected and joyful.

My work

I am, among other things, responsible for the appearance on social media. Our goal is to slowly start building up a social media presence and traction for ODEUM Code, and I love the way I am approaching this way of communicating with our customers and followers. We share what goes on during the process and make our followers feel more familiar with us and the product. This should establish a higher level of appreciation towards ODEUM Code as it will not just be an open source product, but it will have a face of all the people who contributed to it.

By achieving recognition we have a bigger chance of reaching people who are motivated designers and developers with whom we share passion for small things and amazing design and code. The JavaScript software development community is growing so fast, and we love being part of supporting others and sharing our ideas for even greater innovations.

Yes indeed, big things have small beginnings …

--

--