au revoir au vieux moi

goodbye to the old me

-rj
oeuvre
2 min readApr 1, 2018

--

I promise that I’m not going to miss you

Photo Credit: Ross Day Photography. April, 2016.

To the ‘old’ me,

You were in a lot of pain.

You kept it to yourself at the time, people did not need to know your problems.

You became unhealthily obsessed with your body image.

Starving and punishing yourself, so other people would see you as beautiful.

You started giving up on education.

You made plenty of bad choices and decisions.

You were too sad and blind to see.

You considered anyone who got drunk with you on a Friday night a ‘friend’ because they thought you were fun to be around.

You would binge drink multiple times a week to deal with your feelings and be that ‘fun, carefree spirit’.

You would also spend countless days struggling to get out of bed.

You let certain people walk all over you like you were nothing but dirt on the ground.

You just craved affection and attention, even if it was not in the best way.

But now?

You are happy. You are healthy. You are successful. You are better at making decisions. You are in love. You have amazing, true friends. You have learned to like yourself.

Honestly, I will do anything in my power to never be anything like you again, but I forgive you.

Here’s to us! Here’s to our bright future.

--

--

-rj
oeuvre
Writer for

A 20 year old who doesn’t actually know how to write, but I do it anyway.