Review of Christopher Nolan’s Interstellar (2014)

John Tuttle
Of Intellect and Interest
3 min readMay 4, 2019

--

The entire movie Interstellar felt like one long intermission, that midway point in the old films which is nothing but a still shot displaying the text “INTERMISSION” with several minutes of music playing in the background. If you have ever sat through an intermission, you know that it is a period of waiting and anticipation. That was the sensation I experienced, at least for the first hour and a half, of watching Christopher Nolan’s Interstellar. After that time had passed, however, I had lost all hope in calling this a sci-fi favorite.

I am a diligent science fiction/fantasy entertainment fan, and I can handle some suspense and slow-moving scenarios. I enjoyed Steven Spielberg’s Close Encounters of the Third Kind, Stanley Kubrick’s 2001: A Space Odyssey, and many episodes of Rod Serling’s original series The Twilight Zone, all of which were slow-moving at times. But Interstellar was different. For the longest time, I kept waiting for it to “pick up,” get cool, to become intriguing and exciting. I watched the entire movie (two hours and forty-nine minutes) all the way through in a single sitting.

I was sorely disappointed with it for the most part. It was directed and filmed beautifully; it was the very droll story that I could not stand. I will say that as dry as it was, the dialogue was not constantly spotted and tarnished with too…

--

--

John Tuttle
Of Intellect and Interest

Journalist and creative. Words @ The Hill, Submittable, The Millions, Tablet Magazine, GMP, University Bookman, Prehistoric Times: jptuttleb9@gmail.com.