A Very Decent Photo Walk

Fun With Cameras XLVII

Florian Schoppmeier
Of Pictures & Words
4 min readMar 3, 2024

--

A cyclist rides on the muddy river path. Essen, Germany, February 29, 2024.
A cyclist rides on the muddy river path. Essen, Germany, February 29, 2024.

Meditation plays a major role in balancing my soul. I’m not an expert. But I seek refuge in mental discipline practices almost every day.

Calm and quiet sessions work decently for me — lying on my bed or the floor, drowning out the world, and responding to a 10–15-minute guided meditation.

Sometimes, the exercise calms my nervous system perfectly. Other times, it takes more work. Whether I feel successful effects or not, committing to the training of my mind is what matters.

Photography is another form of mental training.

It’s different from meditation, more active and physical, but it also often shares elementary components.

Photography is a mental craft that requires concentration and intent. Instead of fading out the world around me, I accept the world’s invitation to exploration and self-expression. As part of that engagement, I often feel the same calm mediation nerves setting in.

The latest experience that proved that to me happened earlier this week when I enjoyed peaceful photography along new river paths in an area I have covered already.

Follow along as I share an elevated viewpoint, calm cityscapes, and guest appearances of Mother Nature and the Animal Kingdom.

Climbing on tired legs

The decency didn’t begin immediately. The area along the Ruhr River on the border between Essen and Bochum was quiet and peaceful. The afternoon was calm but dull. The first landmarks on my list didn’t yield any photographic potential, at least none I could detect at the time.

Before I crossed the river for a stroll along its southern side, I climbed up a flight of stairs and a couple of ramps to an elevated viewpoint I noticed from down below.

I could have done without a few elements: from heavy legs (positive signs of a busy running schedule and training that is going well) to a bit too much company arriving by car just as I was letting the camera out of the bag for the first time, and a view that wasn’t quite what I had visualized before starting the trek up.

But as I climbed back down, I felt better than ever this week.

Top left Not the open view I had hoped, but the time at the elevated viewpoint overlooking the Ruhr River was still worth the time. Top right Looking over the Ruhr River. Bottom First signs of spring. All three Bochum, Germany, February 29, 2024.

Calm River Surprises

That feeling intensified with every step. My mind freed up, and I photographed more.

Among the surprises I picked up were muddy remains of the flooding earlier this winter, ducks, swans, and a variety of cyclists.

I also looked for details and found a curiously abandoned bike lock and utility poles that dissect the tranquility of calm landscapes in fascinating ways.

It’s been over a year since I felt the weird comfort of heavy legs. Instead of complaining about feeling every muscle in my legs, I allowed the sensations to add to the quiet joys of the afternoon.

I plodded on, fueled by photography and two to three handfuls of Haribo. What sustains long bike rides also works for walks.

Top three Looking over the Ruhr River. Bochum, Germany, February 29, 2024.
Above left A bicycle lock hangs from a fence. Above right Looking up at a utility pole. Both Bochum, Germany, February 29, 2024.
Left Two cyclists pass each other on the muddy river path. Center Parts of the river path were covered in mud, likely the remains from flooding earlier this winter. Right A swan enjoys the calm winter afternoon near an old pedestrian bridge. All three Essen, Germany, February 29, 2024.

I hope you enjoyed today’s photography. I’ll return next week with a post about writing and hopefully add a second post about journalism.

--

--