Approaching The Story

An introduction to my reporting and research on the Roma

Florian Schoppmeier
Of Pictures & Words
4 min readNov 20, 2020

--

Tools of the Trade or everything a multimedia journalist needs to cover an assignment: camera, microphone, notebook, pen, tripod, and a bag to carry everything from A to B.

Following Wednesday’s post with first thoughts from the Burma assignment development desk, today’s edition is all about the Roma. More to follow.

Just like last time, I’ll mention What I’m Looking Into, follow with What I’m Researching, and close with What Follows.

What I’m Looking Into

My interest in doing assignments about the Roma started at a similar time as the Burma interest.

A talk with Roma organizations in Prague woke my curiosity. I’ve got questions I like to answer. On social injustice, inequalities, differences between western and eastern European countries, and systemic issues even in a country like Germany that have brought about a dedicated term (antiziganism).

I’m curious to learn more and find out how Roma and Gadje (that’s the Romani term for the normal population) differ, how they are the same, where they interact or don’t interact.

Another question I’ve stumbled upon is why Roma are often invisible, meaning not seen for who and what they are and what they have to offer as a culture.

I’ve also heard that the community is hoping for the world’s (and the media’s) attention.

I am interested. Just as with Burma, I’m in the early stages and open to let the research and reporting (and the experts) guide me; to compelling stories of importance and interest for both Roma and Gadje.

What I’m Reading

Before I write a few lines on the two main finds, here are a few general links.

Here’s an article on an Amnesty International report that lays out the dire humanitarian situation. And this piece from The Guardian outlines the issue of environmental racism. There’s also a study that sounds like a valuable read on the many challenges for the Roma in Europe.

But let’s turn our attention to two photographers that have informed the public about the Roma. As I’ve mentioned in the last post, studying those that have come before (and including those that are still producing work today) is an essential research task.

The one name that springs to mind without doing any research is Josef Koudelka.

His photo book and decades-long project on Roma communities across Europe called “Gypsies” are both an essential part of Roma reportage and inspiration for modern-day coverage.

The copy of the book that I’ve got in my own library includes an essay that introduces the Czech photographer, his approach to photography, how his interest in the Roma began, and the body of work he’s produced.

Back when I read the book for the first time I jotted down this observation:

interesting pictures in there that invite us to the Roma culture back in the 1960s

I’m also much interested in the differences/similarities between Koudelka’s Roma of the 1960s and how the situation has changed.

A knowledge of Koudelka’s reportage on the Roma, a historical document for Roma culture in Europe, is essential for any new work.

Books of the Trade or everything a journalist needs to fuel inspiration: an assortment of books is topped by Josef Koudelka’s “Gypsies,” essential reading for covering the Roma.

From immersing myself in Koudelka’s work I went on to find a modern chronicler of the Roma. Paolo Pellegrin, a photographer with Magnum, is one of the names I stumbled upon.

In particular, an essay on a Roma family in Italy. Titled Sevla, after the family’s matriarch, it’s a very personal and close-up look at a Roma family in present-day Rome.

Pellegrin does not focus on suffering and negativity. After reading so much about the issues Roma people face I was positively surprised.

His work puts a focus on the joys of life, on the little details of Roma identity that speak of unity and a sense of belonging together. His pictures document family gatherings, playtime, and weddings, among other things.

The link above includes many interesting details about how Pellegrin’s relationship with the Roma in general and Sevla’s family in particular began and developed.

What has stayed with me, for now, is the eye for the positive angle.

What’s Next

Just as before, I won’t go into too many specifics about where the development is headed at this time, but I’ll be back with further observations, descriptions of the processes involved, and interesting findings I’m ready to share. Just a small hint: my current thoughts include racial injustice, health care, and music.

But before I have more to write on the Roma, I’ll share fresh impressions from my running on Monday and general reading recommendations on Wednesday.

--

--