Fun With Cameras XXI

the 35 prime lens

Florian Schoppmeier
Of Pictures & Words
3 min readAug 2, 2022

--

A man passes the regatta tower as he walks his dog at the lake Baldeneysee. Essen, Germany, July 24, 2022.

I talked about ease and simplicity in last week’s Fun With Cameras. Today, I have the second part of a simplicity-focused photography weekend that started with a 25-mile bike ride and an hour of photography near the castle ruins Isenburg in the vicinity of lake Baldeneysee.

One day later, I went on a similar ride. I totaled 29 miles, explored an overlook spot a bit farther east from the castle ruins, and made a quick pit stop at the lakefront.

Photography was again not the main objective. That’s the price that comes with having 2 hours of cycling to do along the way.

I still enjoyed a quality outing. The 105mm lens had stayed behind. The 35mm lens was my companion instead.

The conditions were similar yet different. I enjoyed the (visually) best moments of that day’s sunrise while riding (the surprisingly hilly but quiet and peaceful) bike paths from Mülheim’s city center to the lake.

I was tempted to stop several times. But I never found an overall pleasing composition. And a pretty sky alone isn’t necessarily always worth an extra stop.

The overlook itself only warranted a short stop. There was only one opening in the tree coverage and the lower level that you can just about see from the first two images was almost completely useless (from a visual perspective).

I was en route back to the main street when I noticed three tree stumps that were hit by the early light. Now, I wish I had that 105mm lens. Or more space to work with to remove some of the visual clutter, but there weren’t any additional positions that allowed a glimpse at those three stumps.

When I reached the regatta tower down at the lake, the sun had fully risen. There wasn’t much to do photographically, but I enjoy the atmosphere that the image from the lakefront emits.

Please find a selection of results below. I’ve added captions for each image, and if you want to view a photograph full-screen, click on it.

I hope you’ll find something of interest in today’s Fun With Cameras. As stated last week, I’ve had to reshuffle my plans for this blog a bit. Later this week, there’s going to be a set of reading recommendations. And hopefully, I also have a post on journalism ready before the weekend. Until then, enjoy the pictures below.

Left and center View of the lake Baldeneysee from a nearby elevated overlook. There’s a lower level between the slope and the shrubs. Essen, Germany, July 24, 2022 (location and date are the same for all pictures). Right Writing on the stone wall at an elevated viewpoint near the lake Baldeneysee reads: “Happy Fucking Whatever.” In lighter color, “THX” can be read to the right of it.
Left Looking up from the lower level of the overlook at lake Baldeneysee, I was interested in the tree in the center. You can also see an info column that holds facts about the location. Center View of the lake Baldeneysee from a nearby elevated overlook. I was disappointed with the view from the lower level and tried the stairs connecting the two levels from both sides. Above right and below left Three tree stumps near an elevated overlook near the lake Baldeneysee are bathed in the golden morning light. Essen, Germany, July 24, 2022.
Above right and below left Sunrise at the lake Baldeneysee.
Right A man passes the regatta tower as he walks his dog at the lake Baldeneysee.

--

--