Snap Happy

Fun With Cameras L

Florian Schoppmeier
Of Pictures & Words
4 min readAug 30, 2024

--

I wasn’t quite ready for the senior running couple, my mind still busy thinking about the nearby blast furnace. But I include one of the series of quick frames because thinking about a future that allows me to stay that active and share it with someone represents happiness to me. Hattingen, Germany, 17 July 2024.
I wasn’t quite ready for the senior running couple, my mind still busy thinking about the nearby blast furnace. But I include one of the series of quick frames because thinking about a future that allows me to stay that active and share it with someone represents happiness to me. Hattingen, Germany, 17 July 2024.

Light has emotion.

Those three words, courtesy of photographer Joe McNally, stand out from a photography chat I enjoyed recently. I had been thinking about photographic emotions for a few weeks when I watched that chat and latched on to that short sentence.

Before I moved out for a few photo walks, mainly designed to experience much-needed meditative picture-making vibes, I brainstormed ideas, writing down the word emotion as my anchor.

I had no fancy plans, mind you. All I wanted were general pointers to give the experience a touch of cohesion.

Happiness, slippery, shadow, and negative space are the four themes that survived the process. I wasn’t sure what to do with them. But it was a start.

McNally’s quote helped clarify my plans.

Photography is emotion.

While only one term is an emotion, they all include and signal emotion. The plan was to use those four words as challenges to think about and experiment with photographic emotion.

Pleasure photography time is the best way I can think of to experiment and play. I designed a series of walks with basic parameters: explore a few places I hadn’t experienced before and see where the emotional experiments lead.

Today’s first theme is happiness. I’ll add a few lines that detail how I approached capturing happiness and why emotions are as important a part of photography as technical elements.

Growing as a photographer means you’re curious to master the challenge of capturing life in a way that viewers feel something. Evoking emotion is the goal to have when picking up a camera. Only when viewers emotionally connect to an image do they stop, look closer, and think.

Or as Peter Adams said: “Great photography is about depth of feeling, not depth of field.”

If that is the Peter Adams from the book “A Few of the Legends” (my search for a match to the name attached to the quote hasn’t been fruitful so far), he sounds like a powerful resource to consider for photographic studies.

But I have just learned about him and his book. And therefore, I’ll share a few names (today and in the next three posts) that I regularly return to for inspiration and education.

For today’s theme, my search ended when I pulled Ami Vitale’s Panda Love out of the bookshelf.

It’s a treasure trove of emotions and conservation goodness. There are too many examples to consider, but two pictures I connect the strongest with happiness are this image of a panda being weighed and this panda portrait.

I’ll write about how I approach emotions in photography next time. For today, let’s start with a broad stroke — anything I associate with happiness suffices. I wanted it to be easygoing and meditative. Sounds easy. Doesn’t it?

But capturing happiness, I found not that straightforward.

At first, I saw nothing. Then I saw too much. So much depends on mood, preferences, and experiences. Almost everything can go, from glaringly obvious scenes to much more thoughtful observations.

But, as always, the more you invest, the more meaningful the result gets.

I selected eight images that connect with happiness. I will share a few words in the captions.

Looking for emotions and how to capture them is an ongoing exploration, one I highly recommend to any photographer. It’s photographically challenging and rewards you with stronger senses and a richer intake of life. It reveals a direction for your photography. After all, photography is a pursuit best described as a lifelong learning path.

Left I love photographing blast furnaces and other remnants of the industrial past of this region. I’ve “met” this example for the first time that day and it connects with all four themes I was working on. I’ll include two variations in the next two posts, but this frame speaks to happiness because it shows we preserve parts of history and the plane allows the mind to wander. Hattingen, Germany, 17 July 2024. Right I spent most of my time near the creek Linner Mühlenbach thinking about shadows and light. But I also played with my 20 mm lens and enjoyed the early evening light. Looking up at the majestic tree, its colors, and the slightly softening light made me smile. Krefeld, Germany, 18 July 2024.
I spotted the first visualization of happiness shortly after starting my exploration of a park landscape near the former steel production site Henrichshütte: a runner passing on the path below. Hattingen, Germany, 17 July 2024.
I spotted the first visualization of happiness shortly after starting my exploration of a park landscape near the former steel production site Henrichshütte: a runner passing on the path below. Hattingen, Germany, 17 July 2024.
Left View of lake Baldeneysee from an elevated viewpoint. Standing there that day brought back memories of a run on a Sunday morning in 2020 when I clawed my way back to running fitness. It also foreshadowed my favorite bike ride to date, which brought me past the lake on a rather damp Sunday morning (and gave me an idea for a ride yet to come). Right My favorite plane spotting picture follows in the third post, but I once again noticed that some pictures address more than one theme. Similar to the final two images, I connect this one with happiness because I’m glad I tried. I don’t have the lenses to make the image about the planes, so I concentrated on the sky and the extensive tree coverage that surrounded me on the elevated viewpoint near lake Baldeneysee. Essen, Germany, 23 July 2024.
The forest has quickly become a happy place for me. I don’t particularly enjoy tripod photography, but I make it a point to try. This scene was supposed to give me something for the next theme, but I don’t like the compositions I walked away with, despite trying multiple. But I tried and learned along the way. Happiness can be quite simple. Duisburg, Germany, 24 July 2024.

--

--