The Value of the Reset

Running Files 008

Florian Schoppmeier
Of Pictures & Words
4 min readMay 15, 2024

--

I decided against carrying a GoPro on my runs for a while, so this archival image makes a stand in as it reminds me of resetting, looking back, and reflecting. Oberhausen, Germany, April 8, 2022.
I decided against carrying a GoPro on my runs for a while, so this archival image makes a stand in as it reminds me of resetting, looking back, and reflecting. Oberhausen, Germany, April 8, 2022.

The last month and a half had training ups and downs. I established four weekly runs while nursing a tight hip, courtesy of strength workout stupidity. Once I had ticked that box, I gave in to a reset. The value of that breather only revealed itself along the way. Below, I’ll share this lesson about patience, humility, and thankfulness.

It led me to an exciting update, which I’ll tease at the end of the post.

Mission accomplished

My goal was to make four the new normal. The plan required a switch to shorter runs. It may not have required abandoning workouts, but I decided to cut unnecessary risk.

Running one pace all week may not be what training wisdom prescribes, especially if it’s neither on the easiest nor on the higher end of the intensity spectrum, but it’s my feel-good effort that I always enjoyed the most. That was more important than anything in the moment. It resulted in a liberating two weeks.

The “no workouts, little structure, giving in to mind-pleasing up-tempo runs” formula allowed me to run peacefully, issue-free, and witness gradual progress on my path back to what my body and mind were capable of.

I had just reached the point where I could conclude that I had accomplished that mission when stupidity struck one more time.

From the tried and tested strength routines, whose only flaws are that they tie me down to the commands of slightly annoying apps, I tried the app-free Kenyan-inspired ways (again).

If it’s the workout, my mind playing tricks on me, or something else, I don’t know, but the issues that had just about faded said hello again.

Four weeks of running in numbers: the build from April 1–21 in minutes (1) and Garmin’s training analysis (2), which my cycling computer partially enabled, even though my watch doesn’t support it.

Let’s reset

I had made the jump to four runs per week. It worked. It felt good. There was no need to push too hard. So, I decided to end the third week early, giving myself time to relax before starting the next phase.

But the break started to feel good and productive quickly.

I had been running without any full rest weeks for five months. That made 23 weeks of consistent running. It had been a long time since that happened last.

A combination of not minding a breather break and getting mildly annoyed with the hip tightness pushed me to give myself a proper break: 10 days without running.

Eight days without exercise (except for walking) meant I could enjoy an entire calendar week away from training after 27 continuous weeks.

The following week began with strength training. I introduced running once I felt I was ready.

The two 30-minute runs at the end of the week were a solid and enjoyable start — despite the rain I had as a companion.

Four weeks of running in numbers: the build from April 22-May 5 (+ a glimpse of the future) in minutes (1) and Garmin’s training analysis (2), which my cycling computer partially enabled, even though my watch doesn’t support it.

I could have done a third run. I wanted to do that third run.

But some changes for the future and a surprise pushed me away from that plan.

I’ll sideline the training plan for the time being. I see more value in going out doing the runs I want to do as long as I feel I can handle them, staying in the 1–3 hours per week range, and building from there carefully if I so wish.

That gives me more than trying to force 5+ hours of running per week, especially if I can emphasize strength training for long-term stability and maybe add a touch or two of something else.

One of those touches could be the indoor rower I have access to. The machine has no particular allure, but maybe it’s worth considering.

The other touch comes from an old, rolling friend and leads me to the teaser I promised.

The tail end of that week handed me my first preparations for this change. I am excited. But alas, chronology demands patience and today’s update before I can write about my attempts to find balance, the topic for the next training update in a month. I hope the value of the reset still proved an interesting lesson from my training diary.

--

--