What I’m Reading

November 4, 2020

Florian Schoppmeier
Of Pictures & Words
3 min readNov 4, 2020

--

Display of magazines and newspapers, in print and digital, along with a Kindle and a pocket notebook and pens on a desk. | © Florian Schoppmeier

The second What I’m Reading post this week turns from eyeballs to earlobes. More precisely put, I’m returning you to journalism nerd territory with two podcasts packed with insights into the fascinating junction where journalism and photography meet.

But I haven’t forgotten a good dose of visual stimulus. I’ll end the post with one more picture story recommendation — a curious exploration of a divided European island.

Talking Visual Journalism

I’ve got a love/hate relationship with podcasts. On one hand, there are fascinating shows out there that entertain as much as they educate. A good way to absorb information on the go, while doing chores, or winding down on the sofa. On the other hand, there are too many shows that compete with all the other readings, listenings, watches, and other attention-grabbing tasks on one’s plate already. It’s turning into a chore trying to keep up to date with even a few shows I really enjoy.

My answer to that conundrum is to not even try to listen to everything; I select episodes that sound the most promising, intriguing, and inspiring.

One of the shows on my radar is Around The Lens, a program on all things visual journalism, from general journalism discussions, photography pondering, and insights into assignment life and ethical dilemmas, to everyday on-the-job challenges, and gear discussions.

One of the recent episodes that reached my ears was episode 243, where hosts David J. Murphy and Evelyn Hockstein were joined by Brad Smith for a lively conversation about photographing wrestling, the importance of consultations and networking in today’s marketplace, and covering the death of Ruth Bader-Ginsberg.

I enjoyed the story behind Hockstein’s coverage of the passing of the iconic Supreme Court Justice — check out the episode to hear how she jumped from a family dinner to document the public display of mourning.

Both the insights into the world of wrestling and networking are interesting tidbits about the business that might even offer “outsiders” a neat look at the inner workings of visual storytelling.

The discussion also touches on ways to overcome creative ruts. That’s a topic I particularly enjoy, for it’s a challenge familiar to all of us.

I hope you give the show a chance and find something of value in it for yourself.

Talking About The Fascinating World of Photojournalism

A second show I check in with is A Small Voice. Hosted by British photographer Ben Smith, A Small Voice features interviews, or better: conversations with photographers from all walks of life and genres from around the world. A feast for the keen ears of photographers and anyone interested in visual art.

I recently enjoyed episode 137 where Stephen Dupont invited us to take part in his assignments and stories, his travelings as well as how the pandemic taught him to “remember his own backyard.”

That last point has stuck with me. It is all about seeing the positive in a truly weird year that has upended the work and life routines of so many of us. There’s always something positive to take away from life.

I also found his story on how the work of Don McCullen inspired him on his own path fascinating. It’s always interesting to learn what makes people do what they do.

I’d say there’s a topic for almost everyone in this conversation, from the importance of physical books (photobooks in particular) and the crossroads of journalism and art to his experiences entering conflict reportage and turning his lens on the environment.

A Small Voice, a big recommendation.

Turning To Cyprus

Last, but not least, I’d recommend a picture story on a small European island.

Ephemera by Radu Diaconu brings us to Cyprus, a divided island in the Mediterranean Sea that has a Turkish and a Greek side.

It’s an island that has been caught in the middle of the European refugee crisis.

This little gem offers insightful pictures of the land, the people, the conflict, and the division between the Greek & the Turkish part of the island; with a particular emphasis on a prominent river.

Give it a look for a unique perspective on a big headline story.

That’s it for this week’s What I’m Reading coverage. On Sunday, I’ll write about my running training. And either shortly before or after, I’ll have a bonus post ready for your attention.

--

--