Write to Relax. Relax to Write

A Journalist’s Diary

Florian Schoppmeier
Of Pictures & Words
3 min readJun 6, 2024

--

A display of a DSLR camera and a paper notebook sitting on a camera bag.
A display of a DSLR camera and a paper notebook sitting on a camera bag.

It’s been a few weeks since my last writing update. The blog suffered a bit recently. Today, I’ll write those delays and deterrents off my chest and share how the writing relaxation conundrum factors into my efforts to get unstuck and lunge for that restart I was writing about.

Relaxation & writing — a problematic relationship

I was beginning to sense the sweet taste of progress and plans coming together when a few more curveballs led me to a slight detour.

Without boring you (or myself) with too many details (this weekend’s training update will touch on those a bit), I felt the impact of that additional detour.

Heightened stress levels, little niggles and annoyances, mixed emotions.

I missed writing (and photography — hold that thought for two more weeks because the theoretical framework for the next four Fun With Cameras is complete, and fresh camera time is in planning).

Why did I miss writing?

I missed it because it relaxes. It doesn’t matter what I write: for business or pleasure, technical or creative writing, or pure pleasure journaling. Every moment I have with a keyboard (or pen) is quality.

When I realized what I was missing, what I had neglected, I set myself the task of correcting that malfunction.

The problem with writing, however, is that writing relaxes, but good writing requires relaxation (at least for me).

That’s a serious complication because of the pressure it adds. If one expects the writing to lead nowhere, it often leads to defeat. Not being relaxed equals a threat not to write.

If the path to a relaxed mind is writing and the path to good writing is a relaxed mind, the only option is to just write, regardless of how I feel about it or how difficult it might be to sit down.

I know that doesn’t sound particularly helpful. But sometimes that’s all there’s to it, and all one can do.

I knew I needed to start. Journaling had slipped as well. So, what better tool to find my writing mojo again? A journal makes it easy to let go and search for that relaxed mind.

Lifted weights

I’m back on track.

What I’ll write about this weekend played a part, but so did writing.

Within minutes of journaling, I could feel pressure lowering. Days passed, writing became regular again, I took up the various loose writing ends, and my mind eased into a more relaxed state, one word at a time. The mental fog faded. Plans and ideas became clear. Motivation and drive overpowered sluggishness.

I’m ready to let my curiosity push me forward, no matter what.

All it took was punching through the initial resistance. Using writing to achieve balance requires what all matters in life require if they are supposed to be successful: discipline.

While re-establishing that discipline, I prepared for the immediate future: blog posts, short story plans, and nonfiction plans. Depending on how smooth the progress curve will be, I might have news from the nonfiction curiosity push next week. What I can promise for next week are a few observations. Those have been waiting for me in a notebook for too long; it’s time to share.

--

--