POETRY

All Consuming Silence

Loving me was enough to hate love

Arundhati
Of Poetry and People
2 min readMar 28, 2021

--

Do watch the video for the spoken-word version of the poem on youtube :)

There was a kindness in his anger
so subtle,
not sinister in the slightest sense,
so godly,
turned a heathen like me into a pilgrim
so sympathetic,
he’d rather let his throat ache,
punch his own face,
cut his tongue off,
and bleed to death on my doorstep
than let the devil escape his mouth
and project his pain onto me,
the pain…that i wreaked on him
in the first place.

you see…loving me was
enough agony,
enough asphyxiation,
enough tie-me-up-and-swallow-me-whole
crucify-me-and-bury-my-soul
fight-my-lips-with-your-lips-till-one-bites-the-other
enough misery,
enough torment,
loving me…
was enough to…

--

--

Arundhati
Of Poetry and People

I write because i’m aware of the power words have. I use mine to tell stories, occasionally rant on social issues and turn my life and self into poetry.