Christmas Gift Guide 2020: Last Minute Gift Ideas

If you’re late with you Xmas shopping, I come to the rescue with some (maybe not so) dumb ideas.

Vanina Ivanova
Of Worlds and Oysters
5 min readDec 18, 2020

--

Disclaimer: As a resident of Europe, I generously use the word Christmas and don’t replace it with the PC “holiday season” or “holidays”. I think that’s a US thing, so #SorryNotSorry.

There’s not a lot of time left before Christmas, and this year will be an interesting one: my mom, my dad, my sister and I all leave in different countries. We usually get together at this time of the year, and spend decadent days drinking mulled wine, eating baked goods and generally enjoying ourselves. This year, we’ll have a Zoom call instead and let me tell you, there’s gonna be a lot of “You’re breaking up, check your connection!”, “Why is my screen frozen?” and “REPEAT THAT, I DIDN’T HEAR YOU!”. We’ll probably be singing Feliz Covidad just to make things more festive.

Gift exchanges are tricky over Zoom but you can also ship stuff to people’s addresses, so that’s what I’ve been doing.

I decided to share with you my quick, last minute gift guide for the forgetful, the lazy ones or the ones that simply don’t like their families and decided not to get them presents (but reconsidered and are now browsing pinterest for ideas). You’re welcome.

Another disclaimer: The gift guide is Covid-19 and lockdown-inspired.

1. Noise cancelling headphones

Yes, we’re all stuck at home and under lockdowns but so are our significant others, kids, parents, neighbours. Spare rooms and space are a rare commodity now, and inner peace is almost non-existent. Noise cancelling headphones won’t solve this but can give you a little break from reality when you need it — or at least isolate external noise and help you focus while you’re working.

Based on Amazon’s recommendation, I’d go with these: Anker Soundcore Life Q20 Hybrid Active Noise Cancelling Headphones. Good reviews, super reasonably priced.

Of course, if you engaged in DeFi and made bank throughout the year, you may also splurge for the AirPods Max but I will quietly judge you, roll my eyes and whisper “Show-off!” under my nose.

2. Bitcoin or other crypto

Earlier this year I forgot a friend’s birthday and had to improvize with their gift. I got them a card, and wrote in it that it was time for them to join the financial revolution so I’m gifting them their first bitcoin (not the whole thing, obviously, but they were yet to find out what about satoshis). I then helped my friend set up a BTC wallet and made the transfer. Boom! Instant success. I’m recycling the idea this Christmas.

If you’re feeling less generous, you may lure your friends and family into the world of crypto by gifting them your random shitcoins as well. They probably won’t know the difference anyway.

If you’re not crypto-savvy yourself and want to find out how to buy bitcoin — slide into my twitter DMs and I’ll help you out.

3. A pair of high quality blue light glasses

With all the lockdowns and no possibilities for actual social life, this year humanity spent most of their time behind screens. Our eyes became the victims so why not give the people you love the gift of protecting their eyesight and their sleep? I myself invested in a pair of Barner blue light glasses and let me tell you, my sleep has dramatically improved, I don’t get the headaches I used to get, and my eyes feel much better at the end of the day. They’re light, they’re durable and they’re super cute.

If you’re not sure what model would fit the recipient best or what’s their prescription, you can also get them a gift card instead.

4. A shiatsu massager

I’m only suggesting this because I got one for my birthday last year and I’ve been addicted to it ever since. My shiatsu foot massager is my best friend and I love it and I won’t let anyone stand between us (unless I’m letting them try it because they just need to see how amazing it is). There’s also the neck/shoulder variety, or even an entire shiatsu chair. Any way you go, you won’t be wrong.

5. An online class

This is a gift that can say “I think you’re a bit basic so I’m trying to refine you” or “I love you to pieces and want you to develop your skills further because I care for you so much”. Proceed with caution.

Gifting online courses is a pretty decent idea — I usually shop on Udemy or Domestika but there are plenty of places where you can find various classes.

Where are you with your Christmas shopping? Have ideas that you want to share? Shoot me a comment!

Follow me for more shopping ideas:

--

--

Vanina Ivanova
Of Worlds and Oysters

A digital marketer & growth hacker. Fluent in 3 languages, yet often confused by human interactions. Maker of AdEx. Find out more on about.me/vaninavanini