I Am Not Burnt Out

Vanina Ivanova
Of Worlds and Oysters
2 min readJun 4, 2018

I am not burnt out.

I’m frustrated because someone didn’t do their job and I had to wait for weeks before I could do my job.

I’m frustrated because the lady at the bank couldn’t tell my why I owe money on a credit card I haven’t used for months. I’m also frustrated because she acted arrogantly and refused to check if the card had been used.

I’m frustrated because someone at city planning decided to allot 6 months for a street renovation that should take 3–4 weeks. It’s the street where all the trams going to my place run so now the area where I live is cut off from public transport for 6 months.

I’m frustrated because my family expects me to babysit my cousin. She’s 23.

I’m frustrated because a broken website of a service provider is costing me money and hours of my precious time trying to get this money back.

I’m frustrated because I’ve stopped saying “No” again and I have on my plate more than I can handle (that one is on me, I know).

I’m frustrated because of inefficient communication leading to unnecessary drama.

I’m frustrated because I can’t find the time to take sufficient care of myself (again, that one might be on me).

I’m frustrated because I’m not a toddler who takes multiple naps during the day and ponders over philosophical questions.

I’m frustrated because of a million small things.

But these are things that can be fixed with a little bit of effort, common sense and strategic thought. They are actual solvable problems, and the fact that they are not solved causes my frustration.

Think about that next time you try to tell me I’m just a Millennial who’s burnt out.

Are you frustrated too? Subscribe to feel understood:

--

--

Vanina Ivanova
Of Worlds and Oysters

A digital marketer & growth hacker. Fluent in 3 languages, yet often confused by human interactions. Maker of AdEx. Find out more on about.me/vaninavanini