Swimming in circles

Dorian Gray
ofblackandgrey
Published in
1 min readNov 27, 2019

The stupor of every day sameness,
Of comforts that numb your senses
While the faint voice in your head screams in the distance,
"is this what you really want?"
Maybe it’s not a voice, it’s just a wind howling.
Then the chill inside you makes perfect sense.
A journey of a thousand miles, they say, start with a single step.
Sometimes, though, it takes a leap
A leap into the unknown, plunging
Into the depths of your own mind.
Eventually you will hit the ground,
And the last breath will escape your body.
Funny, was this breath trapped in me all this while,
To only escape at my death?
Sharks, I’ve read, have to swim all their lives,
For the moment they stop, they sink to the sands at the bottom.
A familiar story, I think.
Only I’m not as decisive as the shark.
Run, swim, fight, sometimes take a rest, then spiral.
Recover, rise from the hole you are in now again, and repeat.

--

--