Announcing the Cast of the World Premiere Production of ‘The Hobbit’

Children's Theatre Company
Off Book
Published in
4 min readNov 14, 2018

Meet the cast of this all new production of The Hobbit, adapted for the stage by Greg Banks with music by Thomas Johnson!

Our unlikely hero, Bilbo Baggins, would much rather be sitting in his cozy Hobbit Hole with a cup of tea and a plate of bacon and eggs. However, he somehow finds himself on a magically mystical adventure. Staged with speed and surprises, you’ll be delighted as things change before your very eyes. Discover what happens as Bilbo travels on an epic journey over freezing mountains and a frightening forest, meeting all sorts of fierce creatures — some who want to eat him, others who turn into dear friends.

We asked the cast about their favorite fantasy stories and adventures they have found themselves on! Check out their answers below!

Joy Dolo | Gandalf/Bombur/Troll/Gollum/Elven King/Ensemble

Joy Dolo

CTC: What has been one of your favorite adventures?
Joy Dolo: “My favorite adventure is when I went to Iceland! Iceland looks like a place out of a fairytale! Beautiful mountains, sheep everywhere, and the trees are all really short! AND I was there in June and the sun did not set! It was sunny for 24 hours! And I saw whales! And I saw puffins! And dolphins! Definitely an adventure I will remember!”

H. Adam Harris | Kili/Troll/Smaug/Ensemble

H. Adam Harris

CTC: What is an adventure you recently found yourself on?
H. Adam Harris: “Last year, I was performing a show in San Francisco. A few friends and I drove up to Muir Woods and went deep into the park. There were all these trails with scattered logs, hills, and cliff edges. And we just ran down them all at top speed, turning corners and leaping over obstacles. It was exhilarating.”

Becca Hart | Balin/Troll/Bard/Ensemble

Becca Hart

CTC: What has been a favorite adventure of yours?
Becca Hart: “A favorite personal adventure was once, upon exploring my grandma’s old house, I found a door from the attic to a bizarrely shaped room with wide windows…I’d found an old observatory!”

Dean Holt | Bilbo Baggins

Dean Holt

CTC: What is one of your favorite adventure stories?
Dean Holt: “I would say my favorite adventure story/movie is The Goonies. I can only imagine how cool it would be to find a treasure map as a kid and go on that epic of an adventure, minus the Fratelli brothers, if course. The caverns, the rock water slide, the pirate ship, the treasure!! Maybe that should be our next stage adaptation? It’s similar to Hobbit, a group of people that are pulled together and find the best in themselves when it really matters, and a little gold and jewels never hurts either.”

Reed Sigmund | Dwalin/Thorin/Spider/Ensemble

Reed Sigmund

CTC: What is one of your favorite fantasy stories?
Reed Sigmund: “My favorite fantasy story? I’m gonna go with… the story of Superman. Comics are fantasy stories, right?

Here’s why I love Superman. First of all, he’s an immigrant. He’s a refugee. He comes to our planet, never forgetting or ignoring his homeland and heritage. Look at him! The man wears his family’s alien, Kryptonian crest on his chest for the whole world to see. But the guy becomes a citizen of Earth, striving to help all of us become better versions of ourselves.

And while Superman could rule and prosper through fear and intimidation, he instead chooses to inspire. He’s not interested in wealth, or status, or self-promotion. He’s only interested in doing what’s right. So he’s like Bilbo Baggins, except he can fly. And make lasers come out of his eyes. And he has freeze breath. And x-ray vision. And super strength. Hey, if he ain’t gonna brag about himself, I’m gonna do it for him! We need you, Superman!!!”

Victor Zupanc | Musician

Victor Zupanc

CTC: What is a favorite fantasy story that has stayed with you?

Victor Zupanc: “My favorite fantasy story is The Lord of the Rings Trilogy. I first read it while in high school, reading it in one fell swoop, because I couldn’t put it down. It had a huge impact and it made me look at life differently. The message of camaraderie and intense loyalty was hugely impactful and has stayed with me to this day.”

Don’t miss this new fantastical adventure beginning March 12! Get your tickets to The Hobbit today!

--

--

Children's Theatre Company
Off Book

“The #1 children’s theatre in the nation.” — Time magazine