My Experience with Villarreal CF as a Soccer Novice

Mason Fyffe
Villarreal CF
Published in
4 min readJun 27, 2023
Sitting in the President’s Seat
Picture with Francis Coquelin

My name is Mason Fyffe. I am a student at Morehead State University in Morehead, Kentucky, USA. At my university, I have the opportunity to participate in a study abroad experience, where being an intern can also suffice. I study law, so I applied for an internship in the Legal Sector on InternAbroadHQ. This internship took place in Valencia, Spain, and I was both excited and scared, as I had never even been on a plane, let alone out of the country. Despite fear, I still applied and awaited my placement. A few weeks later, I got an email stating that I was going to be an intern at Villarreal CF, a local professional soccer team. I was instantly thrilled, but then it hit me: I do not know the first thing about soccer, let alone the front office work of a team.

In America, football means College Gameday or Monday Night Football, the NFL or NCAA. Of course, I am a huge fan. During football season, it’s hard to find me anywhere else besides a stadium or in front of a television watching the game of the day. Given this, I knew that I would embrace my new correlation with “football”, or soccer in America. My first couple of days consisted of touring the stadium, learning about the club, and even meeting first team players. I was instantly hooked. However, it is hard not to compare the experiences of sports/athletes in Spain and America.

The biggest similarity I could compare between the experiences are the fanbases. In Kentucky during football season, if you are wearing any shirt besides University of Kentucky or the Cincinnati Bengals, you are an enemy. Not literally, but there will always be a few snarks or sly comments made towards you. Football fans in America are truly die-hard, loyal to the team that is in their state or that they have grown up watching, developing a connection to the team’s success. I have seen grown men fall into tears when their team loses in a big game. In Spain, I see a lot of the same. On my walk from the train station to work, I see countless Yellow Submarine flags. Restaurants, apartment buildings, cars, it doesn’t matter. The fans here are loyal to their team and are proud to show it. People in the streets wear jerseys and team apparel, and when you tell someone that you work for the team, their eyes light up with excitement and envy.

However, there is one difference that stands out to me, that also lies in the fanbase. In Spain, the fanbase appreciation is a two-way street. The fans love the team, and the players know this. The team consistently shows appreciation for their fans, even structuring an entire initiative, “Endavant”, around giving back to the community and instilling a lasting love for the sport in Villarreal, promoting the furtherance of the team and the city. The team is aware that without the fans, there is no point of succeeding, because they are not playing for personal growth solely, but more for the love of the sport and the representation of the nation. In America, this is not the case. A common phrase for athletes in America is something along the lines on, “Haters are my motivators”. If they do not have fans or have people that constantly drag them, it does not matter. When they finally perform well, they will be proud to say “I told you so”. Loyalty is almost never a factor, as players will request trade after trade in order to “ring chase”, or seek after championships and other accolades (money being a massive one) by any means possible. The only time players will actually thank fans is when an accomplishment is achieved such as a championship, retirement, or the player is leaving to play for another team. Even then, it is usually pretty clear this is for PR purposes. The fan appreciation and loyalty to represent the nation in European football is something even a soccer novice can notice, appreciate, and even envy.

Even though I have not been an intern for very long, I feel like I have gained so much from this experience. I came in as a total soccer novice. Now, I am in no way, shape, or form a professional. But, I have gained a massive appreciation for a new sport. While partaking in one of my favorite activities, sports, I was able to get a lesson in Spanish culture and a new vision for how I perceive sports worldwide. I can honestly say that I have a connection to Villarreal CF that will last a lifetime, and I can’t wait to be a forever fan. Endavant!

--

--