Spending time with Villarreal: Inspiring me to reach my goals

Thomas McIlroy
Villarreal CF
Published in
3 min readApr 7, 2017

I first came to Vila-real in September 2011. I studied languages at university so had to spend a year abroad in a foreign country. When I was assigned to work in a school in Vila-real next to Villarreal’s training ground, little did I know how lucky I was. I fell in love with the town, got a season ticket at Villarreal, because as a football fan it was cheap and I fancied watching a bit of football, and I fell in love with the club too. That was the season when Villarreal were relegated from Primera, but the feel of the club being part of the community helped it find a place in my heart. I went to a few away matches, like at Levante, and I used to go to the B team games and it was there that I met Juan Antón, the International Business Manager at the club, and he turned out to be a really good person to get to know.

Me at the match against Levante in March 2012.

Four years later, after working in radio for a few years, I decided to get a proper journalism qualification and got in touch with Juan, more through hope than anything else, to ask him about a possible placement with the club for a few weeks while I was studying. He said yes and in February 2016, I spent three weeks helping him at the club.

It was a great experience, I’d always dreamed of working for a football club, and seeing it from the inside lived up to my expectations.

Sitting there while the likes of Roberto Soldado, Mario and Manu Trigueros popped into the office was a tad bizarre. I got used to it and tried not to act too star-struck though, keeping up a professional nature. I didn’t hide it very well when Marcos Senna was around though, he spoke to me and I turned briefly into a nervous wreck, failing to make proper sentences and just giving him one word answers when he was speaking to me. When he went out, Juan turned to me and said he could tell I was in awe! To be fair, it’s not every day you’re in the presence of such a legend.

In the stands for the Europa League game against Napoli.

As a journalist, seeing how press conferences were held in Spain was hugely interesting and as a football fan working somewhere where I was surrounded by football all day was right up my street. It was great to feel part of the club for three weeks and all the staff really made me feel welcome.

My three weeks with the club flew by and they were unforgettable. Being in the stadium when Denis Suárez scored against Napoli was incredible. El Madrigal, as it was called then, erupted. With my main experiences beforehand being of the disappointing 2011/12 season, it was great to be around the club when you could tell it was on the up. That Napoli game was the first time I’d been to a European match outside of England and I got the bug, going to Sparta Prague and Liverpool away during the Europa League run.

Denis Suárez celebrates his goal against Napoli.

Being inside a club I support was amazing, and it helped me realise I was right to chase my dream to work in the world of football. I’m currently working as a football writer in England and I love it, although the weather (and the football) is nowhere near as enjoyable here!

Endavant Villarreal!

--

--

Thomas McIlroy
Villarreal CF

Staff writer @FB_WHISPERS with a soft spot for Spanish football. Ex @DailyStar_Sport, @epping_guardian, @Jackie_News. Contact me: thomas@footballwhispers.com