My experience as a Villarreal CF intern

Chris Overduin
Villarreal CF
Published in
3 min readJun 26, 2020

I have had the privilege to work at Villarreal CF as part of my final year of university. Studying a sports management degree in Amsterdam, I had to complete my final year and graduation in a company abroad, and I found a perfect match at Villarreal. I wanted to work in a professional football club and experience and understand the football business as well as learn Spanish, and my time at Villarreal has allowed me to achieve both.

The first few weeks consisted of exploratory research and smaller assignments to understand Villarreal and the philosophy the club works from, but from there on I got involved in bigger and longer-term projects which allowed me to really make an impact. I was given a great amount of freedom and responsibility to make the experience the best possible, and I worked on projects which were actually being put into practice. I felt like I truly contributed and was of value to the club. Moreover, the club was very supportive with any requirements my university had regarding my graduation and I was able to graduate on a very exciting merchandise project which my university was impressed with. I also got the chance to be part of some unreal business visits, meeting with people from LaLiga, big media outlets like Goal.com and even some of the players.

The day-to-day life was great too. Both the internship office and the language school are located in the Valencia city center and I would spend most of my days there. Weekly trips to the HQ in Vila-Real allowed to really feel the club atmosphere around the training grounds and meet with different people throughout the club. The Villarreal internship program normally consists of 4 to 6 interns at a time and being with co-interns from all around the world has allowed me to make some really good friends and expand my network. I spent most of my weekends enjoying Valencia, being with friends and going to LaLiga matches.

The COVID-19 pandemic unexpectedly interrupted the whole experience, but despite all limitations we were able to continue our work. Being in lockdown for almost three months was tough, but the club once again was very supportive. We met with different people from the club through video calls, Spanish classes continued online, and I was able to graduate on time.

Being able to intern for a major European football club is a rare opportunity, but to do so in such a friendly and welcoming environment is even rarer. I was surprised by the down-to-earth and supportive mentality, being allowed responsibilities an intern would normally dream of, especially in such a big and well-known organization. Proactivity does really pay off.

Looking back, I have grown tremendously, both personally and professionally. I now understand the football business deeply, I have been able to practice and develop my people skills, I have learned how different departments operate, I made a ton of new friends and had some amazing times and also learned to speak Spanish comfortably up until a B2 level. The experience has been fantastic and I can only be grateful for being given this privileged opportunity. I want to thank all of my co-interns, my supervisor Brandon Paramo and all the people I worked with who made the experience so amazing.

Endavant!

--

--