Off The Wax: The Story Behind A Surfing Brand

Federico Gobbi
Off the Wax
Published in
2 min readJun 16, 2020

Off The Wax Birthed From The Combination Of Two Senses Put Together, Sight And Smell.

Article originally posted on OfftheWax.com: https://www.offthewax.com/story-behind-a-surfing-brand-off-the-wax/

First ever Off the Wax pic taken in Linda Mar, Pacifica, California on a sunny wavy day🤙.

“I wanted to create something that represents my style, not just in surfing, but in life.”

One of the best spots for surfing in the world that inspired me is Off-The-Wall.

Off-The-Wall (a.k.a Kodak Reef) is the classic, high quality, super-crowded, right sprint that’s been a favorite with photographers since the ’70s. Separated from Pipe by a short channel, swells need to arrive with N in them to get the rights opening up over what is essentially a straight bit of reef. Smaller, less perfect lefts peel back towards Backdoor and may offer visitors more of a chance of actually catching a wave, because the crowds can be very intense. Shallow and unforgiving, but barrels guaranteed at mid-tide on an overhead NW swell. — thanks Magicseaweed.

The sight. 👀

When I started surfing the first thing I realized, as many others like me, is the strong and yet amazing smell of fresh laid wax that we all keep inhaling while laying on our boards, whether we are paddling out or getting on a wave.

For the non-surfers in da house. The surfboard wax is a formulation of natural and/or synthetic wax for application to the deck of a surfboard, bodyboard, or skimboard, to keep the surfer from slipping off the board when paddling out or riding a wave. — thanks Wikipedia.

The smell. 👃

It was by combining these two very joyful and sensational senses that I came up with Off the Wax.

Let me share a bit more about the story below 👇

PS I regularly post my IGTV on my instagram profile, so if you want to stay up to date with some very localish and underground stories follow me:

--

--

Federico Gobbi
Off the Wax

Startup Program Manager, Segment (Twilio) 💼 | Professional Surfer & Creator offthewax.com 🤙 | Passionate of recycling things, preserving nature & human beings