#BeKind21: The world (and our democracy!) need your kindness

This is a guest post from our friends at Born This Way Foundation, contributed by their Executive Director, Maya Enista Smith.

My name is Maya and I have the privilege of serving as executive director of Born This Way Foundation, a nonprofit organization founded by Lady Gaga and her mother Cynthia Germanotta. The Foundation’s mission is to support young people’s mental wellness and work with them to build a kinder, braver world. I’m excited to share that one of my favorite initiatives, #BeKind21 is back and you can click here to sign up now.

#BeKind21 is our call to the public to practice an act of kindness for themselves and others each day for 21 days, starting September 1, in order to build a habit of kindness. In 2018, I created this initiative out of the worry I felt as a mother about my son starting school in a new environment. I wanted him, and every child, to be met with acceptance and love at school — and that starts with kindness.

This year, we designed #BeKind21 to be responsive to today’s movements to showcase that kindness is not an empty gesture; rather, kindness is action. Kindness is prioritizing your mental wellness and recognizing that your feelings are valid. Kindness is advocating for a world that values, validates, and respects all people.

Did you know that kindness is also registering to vote and making sure your loved ones are registered, too? My work in advocacy started with registering young people to vote. And I firmly believe and know that one of the kindest ways we can show up is by getting out to vote and ensuring our neighbors do, too.

Here are a few ways you can join me in being kind to our democracy (and thank you for all that you already do as part of the PACE community!):

Want more kindness ideas? Sign up at bornthisway.foundation/bekind21 for more suggestions for how to be kind, notes from special guests and partners, and a social media toolkit so you can help spread the word about our kindness movement!

I can’t wait to see what we’re able to do together.

--

--

Philanthropy for Active Civic Engagement (PACE)
Office of Citizen

A network of foundations and funders committed to civic engagement and democratic practice. Visit our publication at: medium.com/office-of-citizen