SigEp Photo of the Week: Logan Shomo, Utah State’18

Chantry Carroll
Sigma Phi Epsilon (Official)
2 min readOct 3, 2016

Meet brother Logan Shomo, Utah State ’18. He recently went to Kraków, Poland and is currently studying abroad in Wrocław, Poland, for the semester!

What are you doing in Poland?
“I’m studying abroad in Poland at the University of Wrocław for a semester. I chose Poland in order to get the Polish perspective on topics such as the European Union, immigration, Russian politics, and the ever-changing situation in the Middle East. I also really want to gain a cosmopolitan outlook through my interactions with people I meet in daily life. I’ll be studying in Russia next semester, which is a place with many political and social differences. I highly value trying to understand different perspectives, and I feel this is an important step to better understanding the sentiment of Russia and its neighbors.”

What has been the favorite part of your trip?
“My favorite part of my trip so far has been meeting a very diverse group of people, from whom I have already learned much, in addition to discovering the rich history of Wrocław. Also, my recent trip to Kraków introduced me to the best ice cream (lody in Polish) that I have ever tasted.”

How has SigEp prepared you for where you are today?
“SigEp has prepared me for life by teaching me about the importance of acceptance and diversity, and the importance of truly reaching out to everyone. At the heart of SigEp is our Cardinal Principles, all of which have pushed me to become who I am today. With diligence I have driven myself to achievements and places I didn’t think I would go. With virtue, I have become a better man. With brotherly love, I’ve been able to learn the importance of close relationships, and I’ve been pushed to greater heights through accountability in my fraternal bonds. All of these, with the Balanced Man Program, have shown me how important living the ritual is.”

What are your plans after graduation?
“After I graduate, I plan on working as a policy advisor to Russia, with my focus being on reducing ethnic tensions and conflict in the Middle East. This is why I feel my time abroad is essential to my success in bringing about international understanding in an age where understanding is often pushed to the side, rather than being the main goal.”

— Chantry Carroll, Murray State ’17

Share your photos on social media using #SigEpJourneys or #SigEpsAbroad for a chance to win the #SigEpPhotoOfTheWeek.

--

--

Chantry Carroll
Sigma Phi Epsilon (Official)

Murray State University | Sigma Phi Epsilon | St. Marc, Haiti |