SigEp Photo of the Week: Zane Cook, Connecticut 18

Chantry Carroll
Sigma Phi Epsilon (Official)
2 min readAug 10, 2016

--

Meet brother Zane Cooke, University of Connecticut 18. He recently hiked to the summit of Mt. Washington, the highest peak in the Northeastern United States at 6,288 feet! Zane is a junior, majoring in biomedical engineering at UCONN.

What did your trip consist of? “I was in the area for a camping trip after finishing my summer courses. I camped with a friend at the base of the mountain and the next day we hiked up. The best part was that we took Huntington Ravine, which is the most challenging route up. It was far more intense than expected, but we still completed it and it was my friend’s first ascent of Mt. Washington!”

What has been your favorite memory in SigEp? “ My favorite SigEp moment was walking into the first dinner at Conclave last year. The magnitude, both in quantity of brothers and in scale of grandeur, made me realize this was more than a college social club. It is a lifelong continuation of brotherhood, and it really matters.”

How has SigEp prepared you for life after college? “ SigEp has connected me with other young men who enjoy similar pursuits in life; challenging oneself and pushing your limits, extending your horizons (literally, if we are talking about the view), and making great moments out of a normal Tuesday, that’s the mindset I love, and it’s what I’ve found in my CT Alpha brothers.”

What do you plan to do after college? “After graduation I will be attending medical school, likely at UConn where I have been pre-accepted, and I will pursue a specialization in anesthesiology.”

— Chantry Carroll, Murray State ’17

Share your photos on social media using #SigEpJourneys or #SigEpsAbroad for a chance to win the #SigEpPhotoOfTheWeek.

--

--

Chantry Carroll
Sigma Phi Epsilon (Official)

Murray State University | Sigma Phi Epsilon | St. Marc, Haiti |