What I learned in my third year as a SigEp

Chantry Carroll
Sigma Phi Epsilon (Official)
3 min readMay 10, 2016

As I finish up my junior year of college and my third year in Sigma Phi Epsilon, I realize how much growth I’ve experienced over the past year. Here are three important lessons I’ve learned this year.

SigEp is invested in my future.
I realized that SigEp is not a singular semester of growth, but it’s continuous through college and even after graduation. SigEp sets itself apart from the rest of the fraternity world by investing in the futures of its members, not simply during a member’s first semester. This commitment to brothers’ development throughout their college experience and lives is what sets SigEp above the rest.

Leadership exists outside the chapter.
This year, SigEp pushed me to continue to step out of my comfort zone. I tried out for the Murray State Cheer Team the first year males were accepted onto the team. I cheered the Racers on to victories on the football field and the basketball court, thanks to the encouragement of my brothers. I realized that being solely involved with SigEp was a disservice to the chapter as well as to my development. I applied to join my university’s social media team and became the marketing chair for the Inter-fraternity Council. I bettered myself professionally by joining St. Jude Up ’Til Dawn to raise money for children in need and learn more about the nonprofit sector. SigEp taught me to not to settle for being involved in one organization, but to invest my time and talents around campus and the local community.

There are ways to prepare for Life After College.
I attended Life After College in the fall, an event designed to prepare undergrads for life in the professional world. While I was there I strengthened my resume and networked with potential employers. SigEp also offers great programs, such as their social media internship. Applying for this position has taught me how to present myself to employers when I am looking for a career in the same field of work.

SigEp is my home away from home.
This year has been somewhat difficult for me, as my family lives abroad. As graduation nears, my course loads only increase in difficulty. The relationships I created due to SigEp this year have made my college experience what it is today. My friends have been able to support me and push me to avoid complacency and be the best I can be. My friends and brothers have become a family for me since I do not get to see my family very often.

SigEp has far exceeded my expectations and continues to empower me to better myself. My brothers have already pushed me to achieve so much over my three years in college and I cannot wait to see where my journey through life takes me.

— Chantry Carroll, Murray State ’17

--

--

Chantry Carroll
Sigma Phi Epsilon (Official)

Murray State University | Sigma Phi Epsilon | St. Marc, Haiti |