Autodesk Sketchbook on an iPad. This full featured app is free

toddogasawara
OgasaWalrus
Published in
2 min readMay 10, 2020
Autodesk Sketchpad on an iPad

I was realized surprised to learn how many tools the free Autodesk Sketchbook app had when I tried it yesterday on a Windows 10 laptop (with touchscreen). I was really surprised the layers were available and worked as expected. After a bit of searching today I learned that Autodesk made the full featured app available for ree two years ago (April 30, 2018).

It is available for free for Android, iOS, MacOS, and Windows. I installed it on my old iPad (since my new one is getting replaced) to test it with an first generation Apple Pencil. A couple of things are different from the Windows version.

  1. The app provides a quick overview tutorial after you start it up on an iPad. The Windows version just plops you into the app itself.
  2. The Apple Pencil, unlike the HP active stylus, can simulate shading using the “edge of the pencil tip.
  3. Initially, there was a floating menu with a loupe. However, while doodling, it disappeared. I don’t know why and don’t see a preference selection to make it reappear

Overall, Autodesk Sketchbook is an interesting tool option for my doodle-a-day project. Like any tool, it probably takes a few days or weeks of using it to get really comfortable using it.

--

--

toddogasawara
OgasaWalrus

Editor MobileViews; retired former State of Hawaii Director of Operations for IT