Dual 2-in-1 iPhone/Apple Watch charger runs very hot — be careful

toddogasawara
OgasaWalrus
Published in
1 min readJul 2, 2019

I ordered a $15 2-in-1 charger from Amazon that can charge an Apple Watch and iPhone simultaneously using a single USB port. The product (TOGOO Compatible with Apple Watch iWatch Charger, 2 in 1 Wireless Charger Cable) had a 4-star average review at the time. It was delivered yesterday and I tried it out. It charged an iPhone and Apple Watch as advertised. However, the inductive watch charger was uncomfortably hot to the touch when I removed the Apple Watch.

When I returned to the cable’s product page, I found the average review is 1.5 stars and, now, reviews on the page also note the inductive charger seems overly hot.

So, I tested it against Apple’s own charger by having each inductive charger charger a partially discharged Apple Watch Series 3 for 30 minutes and measured the temperature using on infrared thermometer.

Apple’s charger was 90 degrees F after the 30 minute charging period. The TOGOO charger was 108.5 degrees F after its 30 minute charging period. I don’t know if this is unsafe. But, I feel uneasy using the product and will not continue to use it.

--

--

toddogasawara
OgasaWalrus

Editor MobileViews; retired former State of Hawaii Director of Operations for IT