Welcome/Intro

C. Brandon Ogbunu
ogplexus
Published in
2 min readSep 10, 2018

I am an Assistant Professor in the Department of Ecology and Evolutionary Biology at Yale University, and the Principal Investigator Ogbunu Laboratory (lab site is here, a standard biosketch can be found here).

During 2022–2023, I was a Martin Luther King Jr Visiting Assistant Professor in the Department of Chemistry at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology.

I am an External Professor at the Santa Fe Institute, and with the Vermont Complex Systems Center (University of Vermont).

I am a faculty affiliate with Computational Biology and Bioinformatics Track, in the Combined Program in the Yale Combined Program in the Biological and Biomedical Sciences (BBS), Yale School of Medicine.

I am a member of the Public Health Modeling Unit in the Yale School of Public Health.

I am a core teaching faculty member of the Global Health Studies Program, Jackson Institute for Global Affairs, Yale University.

I’m an Ideas contributing writer at WIRED Magazine, a contributing columnist at Quanta Magazine, and a regular contributor to Andscape and Undark Magazine. I am a former contributing editor at WNYC’s RadioLab.

Here we can find information on me and my work: descriptions of my research program, my published research, and portals to writing and other media projects.

This functions as a science portfolio, and includes information relevant to both my formal academic research program and my writing and artistic endeavors.

Generally, it represents the way that I approach my job as an academic. I live for complex interactions:

All of my projects (scientific or other) are creative endeavors, driven by my desire to learn, teach, make mistakes, embrace discomfort and collaborate with just about anyone.

I think it, I generate or find the data to test it, I test it, I write about it, I share it.

And most importantly: I try to help people along the way.

Rinse, repeat, career.

Contacts:
Twitter :@Big_Data_Kane
Instagram: @Big_Data_Kane

E-mail: brandon DOT ogbunu AT Yale DOT edu
Scientific Research Homepage: G.E.E.Q.S. LAB
Github repository: https://github.com/OgPlexus
Google Scholar page can be found here

For speaking engagements:
Vanessa Díaz, PhD
The Díaz Collective, LLC
vanessa@thediazcollective.com

--

--

C. Brandon Ogbunu
ogplexus

Genetics, Epidemics, Evolution, Quantitative Biology. Views are the product of G x E x E x E interactions.