A date with Amala; my Yoruba beauty!

Obianaba Noble
Ogwugo
Published in
3 min readFeb 18, 2021
Image from Google

Hello guys, it’s been a while since you last heard from me. Well, I survived being almost killed by my first love: Jollof and my doctor suggested I break up that relationship… In his words, “It was TOXIC”.

Recently, I joined a match-making site: Ogwugo; it literally has everything you might need, trust me on that). Since I downloaded the App, I have gotten a lot of matches, and as a matter of fact, I have a date with one tonight, her name; Amala. (I absolutely can't wait for that one!)

I have been anxious since I woke up today, so I decided to do a little research on my date for tonight. Here are some of the amazing facts I discovered:

Amala is a local indigenous Nigerian food, native to the Yoruba ethnic group of the southwestern region of the country. This beauty is made out of yam and/or cassava flour, or unripe plantain flour. To make this, yams are peeled, sliced, cleaned, dried, and then blended into flour; this flour produced can also be called elubo. (Yam when dried turns brown; this gives Amala its color).

The only ingredient needed when making Amala is hot water and one of any desired type of flour. Once the water has come to boil, the heat is reduced and the flour is added and stirred until all the water is absorbed. More hot water is added, and then the dough is left to simmer for about four to six minutes. The dough is then kneaded until it has the desired texture; kneading the dough into a smooth paste is the most difficult part of making Amala. The Amala made from yam flour is called àmàlà isu, that from plantain flour is called amala ogede while that from cassava flour is called àmàlà láfún.

Amala can be served with various soups like Egusi, Okro, Efo riro, Ogbono, and most commonly Ewedu soup; made from cooked and grated corchorus leaves. Most people prefer to mix their Ewedu soup with Gbegiri (which is made from dried beans).

Image from Google

Different types of proteins ranging from shaki, pomo, towel, roundabout, beef, fish, goat-meat and lots more, is also served together with any chosen soup.

I am yet to decide which soup or which protein I will come along with for this wonderful date tonight neither am I sure of what to wear, but I am quite certain of the location my dear Amala will be coming from; Amala Embassy, and being chaperoned by Ogwugo, I am sure she is in great hands.

You too can have a date, even a much better date… Just let Ogwugo fix you up! I am off to go prepare… Until next time, much love!

--

--

Obianaba Noble
Ogwugo
Writer for

Interested in anything interesting... You get the point?