When America’s Education System Hides the Impact of Black History, Kids Suffer

Public diary written on 2/4/22

Nia Simone McLeod
oh, write

--

A black woman is on one side of the photo, staring into the camera. On the other, a picture of her from childhood holding a doll.
photos/edit by author

When I was in school, Black History Month felt so unimportant. Every year, they’d spin the same over-simplified, pre-approved narratives about Black leaders.

Occasionally, the school would put up a themed bulletin board in a high-traffic area of the school with a long list of “forgotten Black heroes” or “fast facts”. Maybe.

When we were done staring at the bulletin board for five seconds, recognizing that the school acknowledged the existence of Black History Month, we’d go back to our state-sanctioned curriculums that glorified slave owners.

But now, at my big age of 26, I’m long removed from public school and have the additional brain cells, and overall context, to understand the problem with my prior education and seek out information about Black history on my own accord.

The streets say we’re in the informational age — right? It’s time to gain some more information.

--

--

Nia Simone McLeod
oh, write

Writer covering whatever piques my interest | she/her | Subscribe to my newsletter: https://ohwrite.substack.com/welcome