Writing Prompt #1 | Euphoria Special Episode Part 1: Rue

Nia Simone McLeod
oh, write
Published in
3 min readDec 8, 2020
Photo by Wendy Wei on Pexels

In the Oh, Write series Writing Prompts, I’m creating writing prompts inspired by modern TV shows, movies, and songs. Along the way, I’m providing a mini-review documenting what makes each piece special and how it inspires me — hopefully inspiring you.

__________

As one of my favorite shows of 2019, I was sad to see Euphoria get delayed by the COVID-19 pandemic. According to the executive producer Sam Levinson, Euphoria’s production halted the Friday before the Monday they were supposed to start shooting season 2.

You can imagine my excitement with Euphoria announced they were producing two Christmas specials — one from Rue’s perspective and one from Jules’ perspective. My feeling was similar to what I felt that one Christmas when I got a karaoke machine with a disco ball on top.

Euphoria Special Part 1: Rue “Trouble Don’t Last Always” was released December 6th. After watching, I was shocked by the sudden change of pace.

Euphoria had always been a show that played with cinematography in psychedelic, almost disorienting ways. Watching Euphoria was like watching someone solve a Rubik’s Cube. The show was constantly morphing, switching perspectives, and changing lanes.

I then remembered that Part 1 was filmed during the pandemic. Having the same vibe as the main show would have been nearly impossible.

80% of Part 1 is centered around one conversation between Rue (played by recent Emmy winner Zendaya) and her Narcotics Anonymous sponsor Ali (played by Colman Domingo).

One of the similarities Part 1 shares with the main series is excellent dialogue. After adjusting to the pace switch, I was captivated by Rue and Ali’s conversation. During the episode, we learn about how Rue has been dealing with Jules’ absence along with her own relapse.

The episode’s dialogue along with subtleties such as body language are what kept me engaged until the end.

Euphoria Special Episode Part 2: Jules, affectionately subtitled F*ck Anyone Who’s Not a Sea Blob, will be released on January 24th.

Writing Prompt: Write a short story centered around one conversation set in one place between two characters. Integrate a song in some way. (In the middle of Part 1, Jules sends Rue a text saying “I miss you” along with Moses Sumney’s song “Me in 20 Years”)

If you use this prompt, tag me in the story. I’d love to read what you come up with.

How’d you enjoy this writing prompt? What TV show, movie, or song should I write a writing prompt about next?

___________________________

Subscribe to my newsletter for a new, curated list of creative inspiration from people of color every week.

Buy me a coffee to directly support the publication and newsletter!

Nia Simone McLeod is a writer, content creator, and pop culture enthusiast from Richmond, Virginia. Follow her on Twitter, Tumblr, or Instagram for more dope digital content.

--

--

Nia Simone McLeod
oh, write

Writer covering whatever piques my interest | she/her | Subscribe to my newsletter: https://ohwrite.substack.com/welcome