#WorldWide100Challenge — Serbia — 32/100

OK Student
OK Student
Published in
2 min readMay 1, 2020

Una Radisic, a Serbian student who came to the UK some years ago, is here to share her awesome experience with us. Keep reading to know more about her journey.

“Hi! My name is Una, I come from Serbia and I have spent the past 5 years studying in the UK. I came to Nottingham to study BA (Hons) Fashion Management at Nottingham Trent University and after graduating in summer 2019, I decided to continue my studies here by enrolling onto the MSc Digital Marketing course. Although moving to another country can seem daunting, it is a great experience and I will tell you more about mine below.

I believe that one of the main benefits of studying in the UK is the exposure to cultural diversity. During my time here, I made friends from all over the world and I have learned a lot about their cultures. Having discussed many topics with them, I realised that diversity brings richness to the debates and helps us adopt a more inclusive global outlook, which is an imperative in the increasingly globalized world we live in.

When it comes to the academic benefits, students are encouraged to be proactive in their independent learning and to question the existing literature through critical thinking. This helped me develop my work ethic, analytical skills and ability to take initiative which has proven to be key to my academic and professional success.

Since I have been in the UK for a while, I had plenty of time to travel around the country. I would spend at least one day in a month visiting a nearby tourist attraction so that I could learn more about British culture and I would suggest any other international student to do the same. In addition to those trips, during my last summer break, I visited more distant places such as Scotland. These trips, alongside the lovely people I have met at and outside of the university, enabled me to get to know the UK for what it really is, which is much more than the rainy days.

Lastly, besides the knowledge I gained, I developed my independence, resilience and adaptability, which I would not have a chance to if I had stayed at home. Therefore, I would encourage everyone to consider studying abroad as it is an invaluable and gratifying experience.”

--

--

OK Student
OK Student

International student stories. Real advice. Celebrating diversity in British education. From students to students. ❤️