#WorldWide100Challenge — Sweden — 29/100

OK Student
OK Student
Published in
3 min readApr 17, 2020

If you have stayed tuned to our Instagram posts, we’re sure you will have heard before about Mikaela Green. If not, don’t worry, in this #WorldWide100Challenge blog post, she will be answering some of our questions so you have the chance of knowing a bit more about her and her amazing experience in the UK.

What have you studied? What are you doing now?

I studied BA (Hons) Event Management at the University of Derby and I now work at the International Office for the same university.

How long have you been in the UK? Why did you decide to come to the UK?

I moved to the UK when I was 19 years old, this was straight after I finished my upper secondary education in Sweden. I had just graduated from the International High School in Gothenburg (IHGR) having studied Social Sciences with a major in Tourism. During my studies at IHGR, I encountered people and cultures from all around the world which made me feel so boring! It opened my eyes to what I could do and gave me the courage to apply to university in the UK and bravely choose a university outside of the more known areas; a decision that I will never regret. The experiences gained led me to my current position in the International Office where I get to coach and help students on their paths to further their education in the UK.

Can you tell us about a remarkable experience in the country?

England to me has always been a bit ‘olde-worlde’ and therefore living in the spa town of Buxton in the Peak District was one of the most fascinating experiences of my time in the UK so far.

I was surrounded by the national park, in a town that had a climate of its own (believe it or not, but I don’t like snow and I escaped Sweden to one of the only places in England where it is guaranteed to snow!), and where I was only 30 minutes’ away from Mr Darcy’s Pemberley… Chatsworth House.

What do you like doing in your spare time?

I am a complete yoga enthusiast and love to start my day with a morning yoga stretch sesh! I also enjoy baking, travelling, learning new languages and cuddles with my Ragdoll cat called Nova.

How many different places have you visited so far?

I really enjoy exploring and have tried to tick off as many locations as possible while living here; some of my favourites to this end are the Isle of Wight, Oxford, York, Snowdonia and Robin Hood’s Bay. However, my favourite beach is West Bay in Dorset!

Who do you usually hang out with?

I spend most of my time with my Ragdoll cat Nova… my husband Chris is a close second and then with friends that live nearby me. However, I probably spend the most time with people I travel with for work as I am away 12–13 weeks per year!

What do you like the most about the country?

If I had to choose what I like the most about the UK, I would say that I love the fact that it is one of the most multicultural places I have been to and still excites me that as a student you can sit in a classroom with not only British people but people from near and far.

--

--

OK Student
OK Student

International student stories. Real advice. Celebrating diversity in British education. From students to students. ❤️