I’ll start building oke.date now

Emil Bruckner
oke.date
Published in
2 min readSep 17, 2017

… or tomorrow …

I was never satisfied with the task-managers out there. Having tried dozens of them and still not seeing the features I wish for for many years, I’ll now start building oke.date.

I always had a vision for how a task-manager / organizer / calendar should look like, and about a year ago, I jotted down my thoughts for the first time. I still don’t have a perfect image for the final product with all the features that I wrote down so far, but I do know how to spend more than 1000 hours working on this project.
I initially called the project coniun, but about two months ago, namecheap offered .date domains for 6$ for 5 years, so I checked against 3 and 4 letter words and secured oke.
Since oke.date will be more of a side project, with Votre drawing most of my attention, I will make it obvious that oke is under development, and still publish anything I have, from the first version onwards.

oke.date will always be 0 commits behind the dev branch.
You will see way less than an MVP in the first versions.
oke will start out as a normal todo-list

BUT

oke will be the most advanced task-manager out there, which will still be easy to use and simplistic enough that people who aren’t hardcore GTD-enthusiasts enjoy using it, yet still, even project managers will enjoy all the features they could imagine.

Eventually oke.date should let you manage your tasks with tags (very fundamental). But a tag in itself is also a task, or a project, or category, or whatever you want to call it. You’ll be able to nest them as deeply as you want.
oke’s calendar will plan everything for you, to the degree you tell it to. You could for example tell oke to schedule any tasks that are labeled ‘work’ to be worked on from Mon-Fri 9–5.
Oke will be deeply integrated into a lot of systems, allowing you to have everything in this one system, without having the work of entering it manually.
Oke should be the place where you organized anything that’s not in your brain.

Development of this won’t be easy and this is probably way out of the scope of time I am allocating towards it, but I want this, so I’ll finally creating it.

God is oke going to be ugly for the next months, …

--

--