Rewarding rides every time — the reason we make OKTO

Filip Nag
OKTO Technologies
Published in
2 min readMay 16, 2021

Have you ever been on a ride getting pounded by wind and rain for hours? Getting that panicky feeling of dwindling motivation too far from home with only that dream of a hot shower to pull you through?

Well, I have too many times. I live in a wet and windy climate (but beautiful) and as a cyclist, I am getting fed up with it. Why am I suffering through this when going for a ride should be meaningful? It should have a purpose in addition to getting in better shape! I don’t necessarily ride to compete, burn calories or get those last kilometers to hit my goal of the week. I ride in pursuit of that magic feeling of flying through the mountains in total control, I ride to be able to get that same feeling again and again, and even better, to be able to experience it with others.

It’s really hard to pursue it without anything else but gear and carbohydrates. So we figured why don’t we make something that actually gives riders like me more motivation. That’s how we come up with OKTO; a cycling experience app for anyone that calls themselves a cyclist. By using elements we know from games, we aim to provide riders with a toolkit to go on adventures, get in shape, find people to ride with, and make it even more fun to be a cyclist on and off the bike. With the app, we use friendly, social competition with riders on your own level as a key motivator.

We make competition meaningful and fun, and hope to help riders have a rewarding ride, every ride, all the time.

Through a series of posts, I would like to show how we go about achieving this goal. I hope you will help us out with your input and feedback on our ideas and product. See you out on that ride! OKTO!

// Filip CEO - OKTO

www.okto.gg

--

--